verdict.

Looks like I’ll know within a week if I’m permanent.  I happened to run into the boss last night at Starbucks and we had a good chat.  Helps that I’ve known him my whole life, I think.  He was very open and candid with me about the challenges he’s facing and how hiring me full time could be an issue for him.  He seemed a bit tired, actually.  And annoyed that it had to be so difficult for him.  It seems he has employees who are hell bent on the idea that he favours family members.  I’m literally the only member of his family working for the company, but it would seem that hiring me might poke a sleeping bear.

He did say some encouraging things, though.  He told me that my manager is elated with my performance and that in one month I had already surpassed the previous employee’s performance in this position.  He told me that he may have a full time position in my actual line of work 8-10 months down the road.  And he told me he’s having a hard time caring at all what employees think of who he hires, or why he hires them, in reference to me, and family, specifically.

And all this while I spend a large chunk of my day online talking to you folks.

So I do expect to be permanently employed by next Friday.  We shall see.  Time will tell, as it always does.

Six weeks to the wedding, tomorrow.  Eep!

Log in to write a note

6 weeks is going to fly by. *hugs*

May 6, 2012

Yes! Very cool outcome so far miss.