serious.

Words, words.  So many words biting my heart, affecting my stomach, coming in and robbing me of my breath in a moment.

We don’t often get serious.  He doesn’t often catch on that I’m wondering too many thoughts to pick one, too many swimming in my head to remember to breathe.

"Can we go to sleep with nice thoughts instead of these ones that are bumming us out?"  I don’t know, I said.

So I asked the questions that scared me.  About the future, about us.  And I braced myself for what the answers might be.

"…so don’t you worry."

Oh.  Well, that wasn’t so bad.  And then the giggles began and everything was normal once more. 

We went to sleep with nice thoughts.  And I woke up content.

Log in to write a note
May 19, 2010

Content is a pleasant word, especially as used in the context above. Also, we miss you at band practices… O Canada sounded really out of sorts 😛 God bless and stay away from nonsensical situations if possible!