questions.

It’s a new day.

I wonder if my problem is impatience.  I’ve never been one to be content waiting and letting things run their course.  I always tell my sister what I bought her for Christmas or for her birthday immediately after I purchase.  I insist on knowing the exact timeline of what may play out in the future between Keith and myself.  Time doesn’t move fast enough for me. 

This may have something to do with my resume.  I haven’t worked anywhere longer then 9 months since Starbucks.  Even then I was back and forth between them and what I deemed to be "grown up jobs". 

I’m now in a position I actually like.  I believe I could do events for the rest of forever, and have plans to take courses that will aid me in this endeavor.  However, at the moment I don’t make enough money.  I’m not trying to be greedy or anything.  I’m saying that genuinely I don’t make enough to move out and have car payments at the same time.  I have to stay at home until I pay my car off because it’s just too tight otherwise.  I don’t want to buy a house because I’m afraid of things getting too tight to enjoy life. 

Last night I went for coffee with a friend of mine.  We talked about jobs and about paycheques and what I was worth to a company.  Turns out I’m not wrong in my thoughts here.  Out of school she was making more as a base pay than I’m making now.  And she makes commission on top of that!  I asked her if she likes her job.  And she really does.  And as she talked about it I thought I would really like it too.  Then she told me that she knows they’re looking for another associate.  That I could probably easily be hired.  And I thought that might be nice because I would be sure to have her to train me or to go to if I had any questions.

She sells promotional materials.  She just sold me a bunch of t-shirts for our band.  It actually looks like fun.  It’s like what I enjoyed about retail, but with the ability to make way more money and the freedom to drive around meeting your clients.  I hate sitting at my desk.  She doesn’t do much of that.  She’s always out and about, meeting suppliers, or taking a client out for dinner, or networking at a golf game (once a week all summer!)  I mean really.  Isn’t that the dream?

I just ran all around the office and store and now I’m sweating in my silk dress.  And my belt keeps coming loose.  Curses! 

Lunch time.

Log in to write a note
July 14, 2010

SEE YOU FRIDAY.

July 15, 2010

Loyalty is overrated these days. I tried to be loyal to my last employer, then got screwed out of my profit-sharing bonus because the owner decided to take a ski-trip in Europe. If you’re worth more than you’re getting then look elsewhere. If your employer really values you then they’ll do what it takes to keep you.