engaged.

 Well well well.  Not the weekend I was expecting to have.

I’m writing and the light is glimmering off the new ring I’m wearing.  Yes, folks.  I am now engaged to that wonderful man, Keith!

I managed to ruin the surprise, as I often do, but totally not on purpose or by any actual fault of my own.  Completely innocent, is what I’m saying.  Here’s the story:

I had plans to hang out with my sister, go to the movies.  And Keith had told me he was mixing a show Friday night.  All normal.  Clever little scamps.

I finished work on Friday and went into the store downstairs.  I had seen a purse that I thought my mother would like and decided to buy her a present.  For giving me life and all.  You know.

So while in the store I was torn between the yellow and the red ones.  Which to choose, which to choose?  I decided to call her, but she was on the phone, (problem the first), so I called the other line and my baby sister answered.  She helped me pick red, then asked when she’d be seeing me.  I explained I’d be coming home tonight, as I was going to the movies with our other sister.  She told me she and my mother were going to dinner, (problem the second), and I said oh, well I’ll just come along then.  Don’t leave before I get there.  

I bought the purse, got in my car, and drove west.  (Problem the third).  There was no traffic at all!  I was happy with my good luck.  As I passed the last exit before the one I was to take, my phone rang.  It was Keith.  "Hey, where are you?"  Oh, just almost in Kanata.  I’m going to dinner with my mom and sister.  "………….I’m going to kill her."  What?  Why?  "I’m gonna need you to turn around and come back home."  What?  Seriously?  What happened?  Why?  "BECAUSE I MADE A BIG DINNER AND HAD IT ALL WORKED OUT AND I NEED TO YOU TURN AROUND AND COME BACK HOME!"  Oh.  Really?  You made….  OH.  Oh.  Oh ok.  Ok.  "Sigh.  I can’t believe this.  Yes, turn around and come back home."  But I… ok.  "You’re not going to the movies tonight, that was a lie.  Just get here."  Ok.  I get it.  Ok.  See you soon.

That poor man.  How could he know I would invite myself to dinner with my mom and sister?  Why would he think that I might not go home to change before the movies?  (For the record, it was Friday, and therefore I was wearing non-business clothes, and would therefore not need to get out of my pencil skirt and into jeans.  I was in jeans all day.)  I sped down the highway and got to my place.  I stared at the building for a minute and then took some yoga breaths and walked up to the door.  I climbed the stairs and wondered how I was supposed to feel.  I was nervous but calm, embarrassed and sweaty, excited and elated.

I put my key in the lock and turned.  I opened the door slowly and peeked around the corner.  The table was set and there were candles.  Oh Keith.  The TV quickly switched from hockey to the fireplace channel and I started to laugh.  I called out I’m sorry, I’m here.  Just gonna… as I walked in I could see him on his knee in the living room.  Squee!  I saw he had lit more candles in there.  It smelled sweet and savoury, all scented candles and delicious dinner.

I put down my bags and awkwardly stammered Oh.. and you’re on a knee… the fireplace channel… and candles and I’m so sorry… as I tried to rip my coat off.  God, why was it SO HOT?  It’s January!

He looked to the side as if to say "Whaaaat?  Meeeee?"

I walked up to him and he said some things I doubt if I’ll ever remember.  But then…

"Kaitlin Grant, will you marry me?"

YES!!!

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2011

Awwwww!! Just saw you on the front page and wanted to say CONGRATS!!

January 30, 2011

Congrats darling! 🙂 Gonna post any pictures of the dazzling ring your man surprised you with? 😉 And be sure to post anything wedding related when you get started! I’m incredibly into wedding planning and love reading about the planning of others, as I’ve basically researched wedding planning and anything wedding related for years and years! 😉 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

Hahaha… so not only did you manage to spoil the surprise once… but twice. Clever girl… *hugs* Congrats!

Awwww!!! 😀 Congratulations girly!!!!!!

January 30, 2011

I’m at the public library SMILING LIKE A BIG FAT LOSER WEINER RIGHT NOW. KAITLIN + KEITH = <3. I love you. I love you guys.

January 30, 2011

Also, this means that soon enough you will be writing an entry titled ‘married.’ WHAT. THE FUUUUCK!

January 30, 2011

Hahahaha. I love Marisa’s last note. WHAT DA FAAAACK

January 31, 2011

Amen 🙂 To Be united and it will feel so goooood… To Be united like you understooood… hehe.

February 2, 2011

Best thing I have ever read. Ever. Congratulations!!

June 15, 2012

WAHHH. I just reread this. WAHHHHHHHHHHH.