decision.

Mother of the sweet baby Jesus.

So last night I had that interview.  The work interests me greatly.  I would love to be a part of that place.  However, the position is really two positions.  And it’s salary because the hours are all over the place.  Which is slight reason for concern because I do love me a good weekend.

We talked money.  I told him the number I wanted and he said "I gotta tell ya.  You’re being a little agressive."  I swelled with pride.  I’ve never been agressive when talking about money.  But when he told me what he was looking to pay the person who took on this role, I almost laughed.  He clearly has no idea what people in this line of work are worth.  He told me he would want to give bonuses based on my bringing business in, but that’s not security to me.  I told him there’s no way I’m taking less than I’m making now, even with the bonuses.  Sure, I could pull in between 10 and 20,000 extra in bonuses, but if I don’t, I don’t want to have to sell my condo to pay for lunch.

Hahaha!  The man has no idea.

So I slept on it and I don’t think I want the gig.  Not for what he’s offering.  He released the job description to the local college for a reason.  He wants cheap labor.  He wants a kid he can shape.  I have experience.  I have ideas.  I could do this.  But if I were to do this, I would want to be growing the business and not so much serving liquor at weddings.  But who knows.  I don’t. 

Less money for worse hours.  And I didn’t even ask about benefits, but I’m willing to bet my current job has better ones.  It doesn’t add up, friends.  It just doesn’t add up!

At this moment, I don’t think it’s worth the headache it would cause.  I would be here, at my current job, until at least the end of February.  I have a standing offer of referral into the sales job where one of my closest friends works, if worst comes to worst.  And she makes far more money than I do.  As her base.  The real money she makes is from her sales.  I can sell shit.  No problem.  So if at the end of February I’m out of a job, I’ll go talk to her.  I’d bet my left kidney I won’t be out of a job until at least April though.  Maternity leave is a funny thing.

My boss is being nice today.

Happy Wednesday!

Log in to write a note