Wretched back..

 

There truly is no pain like back pain.. no one can see it .. or understand it ..

I was helping move Sparkys last few things in the weekend and TOH was busy so I just popped up the road and collected the trailer myself .. as I was pulling away from my drive he came running out and said .. are you sure you know how to connect it to the car .. ??

I flipped him a finger and drove off laughing …

I was not laughing when I came home however.. I had managed to damage my back in the process..

The trailer was around the back of the house , I went round back and collected it dragging it behind me .. it was light enough and moved easily , I manouvered it around the grapefruit tree and down to the driveway and waiting car.. thats where the trouble was , coming off the grass and onto the drive it stuck .. so I turned and gave an extra tug to get it started again and over the bump , and as I did that , AJ (allycats man) said ohh stuck i’ll give you a push , and I was not ready for that as it flew over the lump and i staggered back .. spasm..

I managed to turn around and thats where I stuck .. AJ at the rear telling me I was clear that I could go .. it will fit between the gap(allycats car and her flatmates)  That was not my concern .. I told him I was just waiting for my back to stop the spasm and so he came to take the trailer from me .. but I could not let go .. I was to scared to let go the support.

Eventually I came right and walked it off .. and all was good again , but getting back into the car was an issue .. I drive a van and step up to the seat .. this was a stationwagon and I felt like my butt was on the ground and so that hurt also..

I carried on the day and the moving rather gingerly, but got through it .. that night was a little sore but not too bad and I thought I may be ok .. but yesterday I could not sit down ..

I walked and stood most of the day , resting my butt cheek against the corner of the bench the table the arm of the couch .. but trying not to stop moving ..

At the end of the day I was had it and as I’d managed to get most of the day with the kids done without sitting I sat to read them a story before home time..

fatal mistake .. the spasms that hit when I tried to get up put paid to the enjoyable time .. TOH came up to me several times during the day for a hug and I shied away .. I dreeded going to the toilet as the shift in angle sets it off .. I walked like I was trying to carry pumpkin seeds between my thighs,  clenching my stomach muscles and my butt. .. holding onto the wall , chairs and trying to balance on childens shoulders..don’t make me move fast..

Last night I sat for short periods .. 5 mins at the most,, then up and pace the house just to keep moving , chatting online and doing emails was a chore ..

I slept well .. no pain and I managed to get up this morning and bounce out of bed .. all is good with the world , but I can feel how delicate it is and I am still aware of twisting or bending and picking up stuff.

We have Hip Hoppers this morning .. I may not be dancing ..lol

Must away and make morning tea for the class..

Catch up with you all soon..

 

 

TTFN..xox

Log in to write a note
djd
August 24, 2009

get the to a chiropractor immediately … I had two months of agony from my back.. Turned out I compressed two vertebrae trapping a nerve.. And as an accident you can claim acc for so many visits …It’s well worth it … D

August 24, 2009

ouch! hugs I know the feeling!

August 24, 2009

Bummer! Recommend hot pools and physio. And I think it will be ACC. Hugs, but very gently!

August 25, 2009

that hurts

August 25, 2009

I agree with top noter…get it checked out anyway. Bad backs are no fun and it could go again. Meantime no lifting up little kids and definately no more dancing until its properly healed. hugs P

August 25, 2009

Oh ouch! Sounds incredibly painful. Definitely use this as an excuse to get a massage though!