So much free space ..but crammed like sardines

I am so excited .. the kids went out and bought me a new computer .. well not actually , Dino added it to his account and I pay $10 a week..

I have had my computer for 8 years .. had one up grade.. and a little fix here and there ..hmm maybe twice.

I was dealing with 9 GB hard drive .. with music files , and photos taking up space I was constantly having to delete and we got to the stage where we had no music at all , and very few pics , all files were picked over time and time again to make sure they were really needed, some programs deleted , just so we could cope with the little space..

I now have 160GB it’s like a mansion in here .. a flat screen monitor and a flash keyboard and mouse .. I am out of the dark ages.

but with all the space on my new computer I have very little space in the house ..

I was rung last week and asked to have 2 Japanese students as they were short of host families .. I find it hard to say no to anyone and will help always .. 🙂

Anyway .. Maxi and S have moved into my room . just for the week.. Thursday to Thursday.. we can cope , 2 students in Maxi and S’s room .. Kaya and Yosharki.. phonetic spelling. They are lovely boys , and off to Rotorua today to visit all the tourist places.

K has little english and his Mother called last night asking that I teach him much english as he can not speak or hear english very well. I told her he was doing well and that we were able to communicate , I think his problem is that he is the baby of the family and maybe he has had lots done for him.. Anyway I told them that on Tuesday they have to cook dinner for us , they are both very excited about it .. and want to shop for the foods tomorrow ..lol all other students we have had have always said they don’t know how to cook .. I look forward to seeing what we will have.

We were very spoilt with gifts that they gave us , dolls , toys , book marks made of bamboo, and food , I also have a travel mug and a coffee cup from Starbucks Saitama.. their City.

I went to town today while they are away and have bought a few gifts for them to take home for their families .. we do it all the time , I have it down to a fine art of what they like and what the families appreciate.

Books on the Waikato, places they have been and seen, I write inside it how awesome they have been, some memorable story from their stay and sign it from their host Mum .. Playing cards with scenes from NZ , Leather book marks , greenstone jewelery , resin kiwi photo holders, lanoline soaps or hand creams, key chains and pens , tea towels with NZ native flora and fauna, or Kiwiana. then with the longer stay students we have visited both coasts of the Island and collected sand from east and west beaches and have filled little plastic jars that we seal the sand into after it has been washed and baked in the oven. Black sand from the west , White sand from the east .. they think that is amazing .. and some times we are able to do it in one day.. coast to coast.

I love doing it , and my children have a great understanding of Japanese culture,..

So with Allycat in the Garage , Dino and Em in the transition room , Maxi and S and me in my room and K and Y in the boys room , it gets crowded at feed time .. plus Sparky has been over most nights for dinner , I think he is missing the company of his Dads house and the flat seems to be quiet during the week and everyone does their own thing.. and he has not been well , suffering from Sciatica.

But I wouldn’t have it anyother way..

 

Log in to write a note
djd
August 15, 2008

Sounds like a fun thing to do really and to get to know some of their culture as well :O) I remember very well the hot black sand up there on the west coast ..burnt feet in the summer :O) D

August 15, 2008

Wow you are a busy Mum to your extended family, and thanks for suggesting the push start, as soon as I can get my strength back I could try running it down the hill.xx

August 15, 2008

its really nice to learn you also have been receiving some lovely thoughtful gifts….and the new pc sounds wonderful. Enjoy! hugs P

August 17, 2008

ryn: thanks! I love my camera. My theory is that if you have an awesome camera then its practically impossible to take a bad picture. 🙂

August 22, 2008

It’s good experience to take in foreign students. M is also staying with a host family when he goes study in Canada. I hope he will learn a lot.

August 23, 2008

RYN: yes, please DO go see Mamamia..you will love it! I was very ‘down’ last week too, with health, weather and stuff, and the movie was such a tonic I feel energised and joyful again….. It will do you the world of good! hugs P

August 23, 2008

ps…also meant to answer your question…yes I do print them on my printer straight from the laptop, but can only do A4 size and its a special kind of canvas. Black and white works best too…absorbs better. hugs again P