Quiet weekend

 

No Parties , no get togethers..

Was nice to hang out at a mates Friday night .. drink wine play silly board games.. TOH and I with another couple. Their kids and Maxi played X box.

Saturday we had a visit from an old friend from up North who was down doing Bridesmaid duties for her girlfriend, so popped in for a quick visit…She bought her 9 year old daughter .. I often forget that I was at the birth..lol we have a special bond.. that I forget all the time.

Got a text message from a mate asking if we were interested in a Rocking Chair .. free to a good home .. I asked if it was wooden or a lazy boy recliner type .. answer was wooden !! so I snapped it .. yes yes yes .. I love it. Will make a library corner for the kids and I will be able to sit in my rocker and read to them .. so excited , it is so comfortable even with no cushioning.

Saturday night TOH and I watched movies on TV .. just hung out , cuddled and chilled. Sparky had hired an X Box for the boys for a week and they played nicely with the new games.

Sunday Mum came in on the bus and I picked her up and we planned to go to Donovans for lunch and have a chocolate shot.. hmmm warm liquid chocolate in a shot glass with marshmellows  and wafers.. but as S and I found out last time we went .. if you actually try to drink the shot like you would a normal shot .. the chocolate coats your mouth so bad you can’t close your lips over your teeth…rofl

So Donovans was closed as we pulled up .. and Mum had just finished telling me about a phone call she had had with an elderly friend who had had a birthday dinner at the Cock and Bull and Mum  wanted to know where that was and what it was .. lucky Donovans was closed Huh .. the Cock and Bull was on the same street but at the other end,… so we went there and had Pizza and a basket of fries with a coffee .. I wanted wine .. but we still had to do the groceries. It was devine and we sat and chatted in the warmth of the bar commenting on the desperate people going out to smoke in the freezing wind… glad I gave that away

Then it was off to Pak and sav and some shopping .. I liked the no rush aspect of shopping .. for me to follow about as Mum shopped and I picked up things I had never seen .. read jar labels and sorted meals in my head .. no money for groceries for me , but I did get a few things I had forgotten , hand soap , tissues , moisturiser..

After the groceries we came home , had a quick drink and then packed Maxi and TOH into the van and headed back to Raglan, to Mums. Maxi is staying the week with her .. a break from me , care kids and S .. who is working all week this week.

Mum had but a roast on before she left in the slow cooker , so all we had to do was the veges .. wow I so miss mums cooking .. funny how it brings back childhood memories.. she chatted on the phone to my Aunt .. gave her the news about TOH and I being engaged and then passed the phone over for us to have a chat .. 🙂

we left there about 8pm .. stoppd on the way home in the dark at the top of the Divi( the mountain range between Hamilton and Raglan) and watched cars travel up the windy road on one side and looked at all the stars .. something you miss being in the city in the built up area with all the light pollution.  

Home and a quick tidy up and off to bed .. I still have an early start Mon Tues, Wed.. even during the school holidays .

TTFN..xox

Log in to write a note
July 12, 2009

lol is that the only reason you parked up the van with soon to be hubby?

July 13, 2009

cool!

July 13, 2009

how nice to have your mum visit. A quiet weekend is a bounty, especially as the weather was so rotten anyway. I wish I’d been able to snuggle up quietly at home through all that. RYN: that house is very sterile…but to be fair it was currently emptied out (partially) for renovations. Not my kind of house though. hugs P

July 13, 2009

sounds like a wonderful visit

July 14, 2009

Yes thats a good spot on that Raglan – Hamilton road. You sound happy.

July 14, 2009

ryn: oh heck, I didn’t take the picture! I leave celebrities alone. Well… maybe if I saw one I really liked I wouldn’t. But yeah, I just stole that one from online

July 16, 2009

Sounds so nice to just relax and take some time out. I really like the sound of the chocolate shot!!