Dec 27 the camping begins

After stressing all night about what I may have forgotten and what I still needed to do, I checked the lists( yes plural) and decided we were ready.

In the van we packed the tent ,gazebo,umbrellas, 3 single stretchers 2 double stretchers , 1 air bed  1 pump, a pack for Maxi and S each , my suitcase, a bag of towels a bag of blankets and sheets , Maxi and S both had a dome tent and 2 sleeping bags.. 2 chilly bins of food, 2 large plasticbins of food, 2 boxes of bourbon and cola RTD’s, 4 bottles of wine , 8 bottles of asstd coke and sprite. camera, asstd bits and pieces, pillows ,a 20ltre jerry can of water, and the camp kitchen( see I took the kitchen sink)

enough space for Maxi and S. just.

I stopped off in town and had my nose pierced.. have wanted to do that for a while, I like the look of a small diamante stud. TOH said .. " get that done and you’ll be looking for a new boyfriend" ..hmmm threaten me huh .. so I got it done. I love it..

We drove to Waihi (about an hour and a half) had lunch at subway and then through to Whangamata, and on up to Opoutere.. we arrived about 4ish.

Tent city was already erected as Richard, Gary and Colin had arrived Boxing day the 26th. But there was a gap for my tent.

Colin and Garry helped me to put up my tent , I had bought it on trade me earlier in the year and due to rain and busy weekends I had not had the chance to put it up and check it .. I prayed that it was all there .. and it was. a wicked tent I must say.. canvas one roomed. Mint.

The boys and I unloaded the van and stashed everything in my tent and slowly sorted out what went were..they went off and put up their dome tents in a gap behind Rachelles tent. I made my bed and put up the kitchen unit, stacked the chilly bins and food bins .. pulled out the table and laid it with plates, cups , glassses and cutlery and essentials for coffee and breakfasts .

Almost set up as we wanted and then it was time for dinner , Gary and Richard cooked on the BBQ, and the kids all did the dishes. I made up the roster for the 9 days.

Aside from my 2 boys .. Colin had 4 kids .. Shan, and Tan( a friend) Log and Ker.. 16 , 16 , 9 and 5.   Gary had Gorge 5  Richard had his daughter Rach and grandson Nat 18 and 1, plus 2 friends girls , Han and Chy. 11 , 12 and then there was Garys brother and nephew Bren and Quin  20 and 17.

Bren and Quin left new years eve eve and Allycat and her 2 friends arrived.. as did Richards girlfriend Di and her daughter Taz..and Garys flatmate Mel so there was a huge crowd of us .. in the end 12 tents.

So that first night after dinner I took the boys for a walk around camp .. showing them how to get to the beach , where everything was and where they were allowed.

Next day I set up the bunk set in my tent as a storage unit so most stuff was off the floor.

We also ran a theme every day .. and Sunday the 28th was funny hat day..I wore a cat in the hat hat all day long .. man did I get some looks .. down at the beach at least the kids could pick out our spot from the water., Awesome surf beach , nice and safe at the waters edge for the kids. we were at the beach at least twice a  day.

Next was Mohawk or topknot day.. it was optional and although Richard and Nat started the day with mohawks the rain soon made them flop. I wore a topknot all day .. lol. It rained and rained .. we played cards and read books and tried to stay dry .. the tarps leaked a little so Gary Richard and I changed them about and recovered our space so there were no drips. or gaps. My tent held up under the rain although it did get a little squishy underfoot .. the water never came into the tent, except for a little on the roof where it may need water proofing again.. just where the tent pole held the apex up .. I can live with that.

Ugly shirt day and we all came out of our tents with them on in the morning , but due to the heat they were stripped off within minutes and no fines given. What a scorcher. Bren and Quin left for the Mount today.  Gary and I went into Whangamata to the laundromat and ended up at his sisters backpackers getting clothes and towels washed and dried. Most of the towels had been washed but needed spinning and drying, then a quick trip to the supermarket for a few fresh items , bread milk veges and home again.. to the beach. Allycat , Sara, Tarzo, Mel , Di and Taz arrived today.

Lavalava or Sarong day was New Years Eve.. everybody wore them , girls boys men.. what a wicked site .. although gary could have worn something under his …OMG.

We played at the beach and built sand castles, came home showered and cooked dinner , Colin and his family went to town for dinner , a new years treat , at a resturant in town. We had hamburgers.

Colin had bought a generator so we cranked that up and were able to listen to music on richards laptop.. thousands of songs from all genres and all eras.. it was wicked.

We sat around laughing and joking , having a few drinks and singing along. S and Colins girls Shan and Tan got on well so they all went off and did their own thing .. as did Rach, and Taz.. Allycats mates Tarzo and Sara tried to get allycat to walk about the camp with them but she was a sad sack and stayed with us parents. All the littler kids played across the way from our tent site with most of the other camp kids .. it was just awesome for them to make new friendships and play in a safe environment.

About quarter to midnight Richard and Colin set off across the farmers paddock behind our tents and set up some fireworks .. then at countdown they lit them .. awesome .. Hugs and kisses all round.

The younger kids were all rounded up and washed watered and put to bed.. the older ones checked on and given curfews. Then it was our time to party.. ohhh and we did.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 6, 2009

awwww that sounds like a wicked NEW years!!!!!

January 6, 2009

sounds wonderful!

Whangamata!!!!!!!!! hehehe! I wanna go *pouts* Panzer