Whirlwind

It’s been a whirlwind these last few days. I had an appointment with my OB in the beginning of the week and she was concerned about my high blood pressure. She explained that if I had protein in my urine I might have what is called "preeclampsia" this condition is highly dangerous for me and the baby and for many women they find out they have it too late–it often leads to having a stillborn because the placenta isn’t getting the nutrients that the baby needs to survive. After doing several tests they found that my urine had normal amounts of protien and that I did not have preeclampsia at this time.

When the doctor was describing all of this to me I was never nervous. I sat there and nodded and assured myself that I was going to be alright. Doing my own research on it though has really changed the way I view this condition. It has really opened my eyes to the importance of going to see the doctor regularly and eating right. It also made me feel extremely guilty for not taking better care of myself. I have been wishy washy with taking my prenatal and my diet has always been terrible.

I go to see the doctor again on Friday and while she said if I were more dialted that she would just induce me to be safe I am only 1 cm along so far. If I’m not more dialted I doubt she would induce me unless I had more protien in my urine or other symptoms of preeclampsia. While I’m happy that I don’t have this condition, I still worry and would like it to be over with already! Honestly I’m so sick of being pregnant! The doctor  has told me though that because I’m only 1 cm dialted there is more of a chance that I would have to get a c-section if I were to be induced now.

We will see what she says on Friday, if I’m still only 1 cm maybe she will induce me anyways just to make sure the baby was ok. I will try to keep you updated…

Log in to write a note
December 4, 2008

ryn we already talked about thanksgiving when we txted the other day silly:P It sounds like the doctor is on top of things, so you should be alright, and I wouldnt feel too guilty about your diet, alot of people have done a lot worse things than just eat wrong while pregnant. I miss you too, but we cant really just hang out like we used to, at least not for a while yet. Let me know when u have

December 4, 2008

the baby though and i will come visit u in the hospital or soon after. *hugs* i’m sure you’ll be fine.

December 8, 2008

Yay updates. I am glad that you are doing well. Though, I have to say, that you should be taking better care of yourself and the baby. You may be tired of being pregnant now, but sooner or later, I am sure you will want to be pregnant again. It is one of those nature things. Anyway, how were/are finals looking? Hope all is well.

December 26, 2008

Just wanted to say MERRY CHRISTMAS!

December 30, 2008

eeehhhh! Excited! how are you feeling? happy Holidays too!

January 1, 2009

HAPPY NEW YEAR! may this year be a blessed one.