Because It’s Christmas

I’m sitting at home by myself, putting off the time to go see the family and give out gifts and all of the other traditional holiday things, because it seems appropriate to be a little maudlin and lonesome today. I don’t particularly know why.
I’ve spent the day thus far wasting time and thinking of other Christmases that I’ve had and being wonderfully nostalgic and a little sad. It’s a special day and I’ve spent it with a number of special people. Which, really, is the best gift you can have on Christmas, being with the people that you love.
I don’t ever really stop loving someone, once I’ve started. I think that’s universal, but maybe it’s just me. Once I’ve loved you, some part of me will always love you. Today is a day when I tend to remember the people I love and it gets a little too much, sometimes. It’s an emotionally charged day to begin with, I suppose, and it’s a bit foolish to add to it. I still do, though.
So, in case anyone is reading this and thinks it’s relevant, I love you and I miss you and I hope you are having a wonderful holiday.

Log in to write a note

You have an amazing family, and a lot of people around you that love you too. You are blessed, more so than I think you realize sometimes. I hope you had a good Christmas, despite how lonely it seemed to be.