I Used To Dream

I used to dream of wide open fields, and endless blue skies. Kingdoms that would stretch for miles, and reach up to the highest heavens.

I used to dream of great beasts that would roam the lands, both radiant and terrible.

I used to dream of the stars, an infinite amount of mystery and wonder that lie above, looking down at me. There was always something to observe. A new constellation that flares into the brightest euphoria, right before burning away. Perhaps a magic blue box with a lonely god, or even ancient, titanic beings that would only be spoken of in hushed whispers, finding mercy in the darkness as their legends weave themselves.

I used to dream of eyes that would shine as bright as the sun, and then become as cold as ice. I would dream of chilly mountain passes, forgotten in ice and snow, and castles that fell to ruin after days of siege.

This world is limited, however wondrous. Lives begin, and end, and time keeps on ticking away. Cities rise, empires fall. Creatures thrive and propaganda lies, forcing people to forget what they never knew. Time, space, life, death, happiness, sadness, love, heartbreak, land, ocean, and further enigmas may never truly be within our grasp, but at least we shall always have our imagination, and in that, we are truly limitless.

Log in to write a note
January 5, 2013

random: I just came across your diary, and wanted to say that I love your profile picture! =]

January 6, 2013

I like it! I really do!