When your first love gets engaged…

…to somebody else

Well, it finally happened. He found somebody else. The boy whose heart I broke into a million pieces and who in turn broke mine into a million more found a worthy woman. Just before Christmas they became engaged. I truly couldn’t be happier for him.

He was my first real love. I broke his heart. I was stupid and vapid and shallow. I was young. We were not meant to be. But I loved him and I broke his heart. I was so happy when we got back together. I knew I had made a mistake. And then. And then he broke my heart. In a most cruel way. A way that made me doubt love, my trust in my intuition, and in general life choices.

I never thought I could forgive him. He "wanted me to know what a broken heart felt like." Well, he succeeded.

Years passed. We’d bump into each other now and then, and I would be miserable and afraid. I couldn’t look him in the eyes. I was humiliated.

More time passed. I learned to love and trust again. I found my soul-mate in my husband and had my boys.

Facebook was invented. He wrote me an apology. A long apology. A heartfelt apology. He was happy for me and would always love me, but in that first love kind of way. He could see how happy I was/am with my life and he couldn’t wish for more for me.

We’ve become Facebook friends. Sometimes little chats. Just checking in on each other.

And now, he’s getting married to a woman he loves. I really couldn’t ask for more for him.

p.s. wrote this over at prosebox.com too.

Log in to write a note
December 30, 2013

All’s well that ends well, eh?

January 7, 2014

that is a weird feeling. A little bittersweet, but ultimately wonderful he has happiness and love.