The weekend

We had a LOOONG weekend.

Saturday morning started bright and early. Well, 7:30. Not too early, but earlier than I wanted. Around 10, I decided it was time to get in gear. I headed down to the basement and attacked the "cat side" with trashbags, broom and scrubbies. It took me until noon, but I got all the yard sale stuff moved to a far corner away from the kitty litter, the floor cleaned up and a large pile of boxes broken down. I also had 4 large bags of trash. There is now such a large pile of trash in the garage, that I can’t park in there. Trash day is Thursday morning.

Then my sister Heather called me to let me know that our brother, Jeremy, had been in a car accident. He fell asleep at the wheel at 4AM. Dumbass. Unfortunately, he tested at 0.12 for alcohol. .08 will get you arrested. So, he got arrested for DUI. Dumbass. Now, I know that for him, 0.12 is barely buzzed, but COME ON. He KNOWS better than that. GAH! Heather bailed him out. He’s OK, but his car probably is totalled. He had some glass in his arm, but other than that, he’s just sore.

So after lunch, Heather and I went to the Fox to see "A Chorus Line." Enh. It wasn’t horrible, but it’s not the best musical ever. But, it is the first show this season that I’ve gotten to see all the way through. After the show, we went to Union Station for an early dinner in the food court. I had Panda Express and she had Sbarro’s. It was yummy.

Got home and cleaned some more in the basement. Really just breaking down more boxes. I still have a LARGE amount of stuff to go through and get rid of. I didn’t go through ANY boxes, I just restacked the ones we had in a better order. I WILL go through the boxes soon. I want to plan on finishing the basement. At least my laundry room. And I want to put some flooring down too.

Sunday was gorgeous out. I spent most of the morning weed whacking along the fence and then cleaning out my rose gardens (back and front). I have scrapes and a couple splinters from the roses, but the gardens look pretty darn good if you ask me! Then we went to lunch. We stopped at the Home Depot to get a power washer so we could spray down the south side of the house. It gets no sun at all so we had a green moss growing on the sidind. Well, the stupid thing would run for a minute and then stop. Nathan would restart it, and it would stop. So, I called and they said to bring it back and that they would change it out and give us an extra hour on our rental time (4 hours total). The second one did the EXACT SAME THING! BAH! So, I took that one back and the guy apologized profusely and said that he’d "take care of it." I’m hoping that means that I don’t have to pay for it. I don’t know though because at that point Kenny decided to run off into the store and I had to run after him. He really just wanted to look at this shelf of flowers that were right next to the rental counter, but still. The guy at the counter said that I didn’t need to sign anything and that I could go, so I went after Kenny (who was stopped and looking at the flowers). We picked up a new 5 gallon bucket, several bristle scrub brushes and a long pole brush. And that’s how we washed the side of the house. Nathan used the pole brush, and Kenny and I used the little hand brushes. It took about 2 hours and a lot of elbow grease, but we finished. The side of the house looks MUCH better.

I am disappointed though. I didn’t manage to do ANY knitting. I want to get a blanket done in time for my neice April’s birthday. I’m going to be cutting it close. Her birthday is June 25. YIKES! I’ll get it done though. I WILL!

Trying another new hat pattern for my small loom at work. We’ll see how it works out. The hat itself is crayon blue and florescent orange. It’s very bright. Still haven’t done any ear flap hats. I’ll have to make a bunch of different ear flaps and sew them on. The pattern with the attached flaps just did NOT turn out right at all. No big deal. Hats first. Then I’ll make the ear flaps. The don’t take long at all to make. They just probably won’t match the hats. Oh well. I was told the people in Bolivia like bright and bold colors. 😉 They’ll be bright and bold all right!

Log in to write a note

I hate going through junk. Eventually, I’ll get it down to practically nothing. I will admit that we’ve gotten much better over the years. We do need a dumpster or skip for all the reno stuff that needs to go to the dump. I haven’t been to a live show other than watching my daughter dance for a few years now. I always enjoy it when we do go.

May 18, 2009

A nice way for your brother to spend time with the family eh?!!! I MUST clean the basement, I really do think I’ll find Moses or somebody down there. Trying to part my sea of laundry!!! The hats will be met with great joy and thanks from whomever gets them, don’t worry about colours! Trust me, they are happy for ANY new items! And yes, there will be a photo op when yours are given out.

May 18, 2009

Because last year we all CRIED when a hat, swetaer and scarf set was given out , the guy giving it out said to the little Quechua boy “my mother made this just for YOU” . Oh yeah, sniff-o-rama!!! So when Keepsake’s stuff is given out, I will be there saying “from me amiga Americana, Keepsake, she made it just for you”.