Surgery is on…

Quote the doctor, "It looks ugly back there." Yeah, that’s nice. So, I have to have my tonsils out. My pre-op testing is this week and my surgery is January 22 (yeah, that’s next week). I’ll be off of work until the 2nd of February.  It’s pretty much what I was expecting, but I thought I’d have more time before the surgery, but I was wrong. Since I’m still carrying the infection (see the "ugly" quote from above) it’s not exactly the best for me to wait too long. I’m not contageous strictly speaking, but I should refrain from "swapping spit" (yeah, this doctor is a comedian) with anybody. Little kisses are fine, just no "making out." Nice huh? Between now and then I’m to try not to get sick (funny again) and to try to double my caloric intake. Blech. He wants me to put on a couple of pounds as I’m likely to lose around 10 after the surgery (that whole no eating/liquid diet thing). He said the best he’s found is to drink Carnation Instant Breakfast with every meal and another before bed, but he knows that’s a lot so at least twice a day and with whole milk or really good icecreme in a shake. Ew. But, since I don’t want to end up looking like a total anorexic…

Log in to write a note
January 12, 2009

You’ll be happy you went through it, in about a month. I had mine out years ago, before Zach, and I felt WAY better after!! The recovery is a bit sore, but yes, the calories are important now so you don’t end up looking like a movie star. “No really, I ALWAYS weigh 78 pounds!” Word of advice? Don’t have suagry drinks after, the sugar burns the incisions. Owwwie. Hey, make some pate!!! That’ll add zillions of calories. Seriously. AND it’s soooo good!!

January 12, 2009

well. I hope this fixes things.

January 12, 2009

This is GREAT! Fast is even better. Less time to feel horrendous beforehand and less time to worry about it. Seriusly, I felt SOOOO much better. If there’s anything you want to know beyond what the docs probably told you, I mean from a patient-who’s-done-it-as-an-adult perspective, just ask. 🙂

January 12, 2009

I’m glad it’s happening. Then you can say goodbye to all these months of hell. xo