Saturday – Two Options – Nothing Good

I have two options for this coming Saturday. Neither of them are pleasant, but they are my ONLY options.

Option 1:
Go to my SIL’s house for the afternoon. Stay there until dinner and eat (goodness knows what though). The weather will be nice. We’ll get to play outside and do lots of actually fun things. The hooligans will be obnoxious and I’ll have to deal with "the inlaws" all afternoon. Yay. Fun. (I need a sarcasm font).

Option 2:
Go with my older sister and mother to Grandma Imo’s house. Grandma Imo is suffering from Pancreatic Cancer. The chemo is no longer working, so they’re not going to do it anymore. Hospice has been called in. She’s ill. She and Grandpa Don smoke like chimneys. Sue (Imo’s daughter) is aggravating and better than thou in her Christianity. Grandpa Don is also quite ill with emphysema and non-contageous teberculosis. AND my mom is going with my older sister and me. Sue and my mom DO NOT get along.

Option 3:
Hide. OK, this really isn’t an option, but it’s nice to have a third plan.
 

Is it sad that the lesser of two evils is actually Option 2? Of course I’m going to go see my grandmother. No, she’s not technically my grandmother, she’s my older sister’s grandmother. But, she always treated me as one of her own. She’s my grandmother. Heck, before she became Grandma G (when I was 7 or 8 or 9 I don’t remember), she was my Grandma F and I had the "F" last name until I got married. I will not be taking the boys with me. All my menfolk will be going to my SIL’s for the fun afternoon. I’ll be taking the van, my mother, my sister and my neice Tesia to Imo’s. We’ll bring lots of photographs that Imo can keep. I’ll have them all put in a photo album for her so that she doesn’t have to mess with it. We’re taking the van because I’m pretty sure Imo is going to "give" us (as in force us to take) a lot of stuff back home with us. I know we’ll be getting a pre-decorative Christmas tree. And there’s a strong possibility that the 3,000 + sets of salt and pepper shakers will be coming home with us too. Just the thought of having to catalogue and research value and storing all of that. Because you know it’ll be at my house.

Oh well, it’s good to go to my Grandmother’s. I just wish she weren’t so sick. 🙁

Log in to write a note
March 4, 2010

I’m really sorry. It’s hard to slowly lose someone. While you do get to say your goodbyes, that is cold comfort. I hope the day will be a good one. Hugs

March 4, 2010

can i have a sarcasm font too? 🙂