I hope the kitty will be OK – Edited

Just helped catch a kitten (probably 8 – 12 weeks old. Not ITTY bitty, but still very young) over by our receiving bays (where 18-wheeler truks drop off our shipments). My friend Jen saw it get hit by a car. The car didn’t even slow down or try to stop. Poor little thing. It’s leg was obviously broken (no blood though). She’s taking it over to the Humane Society right now. I hope they can take it, even if it’s to put the poor thing down. Poor sweet baby. It was hiding behind the tires of one of the big trucks on our lot and it had to be moved (or it risked getting turned into a pancake when they moved the truck), so Jen blocked it from the front and kept its eyes on her and I just reached around and "scruffed" him. He hissed at me and twisted a bit, but I didn’t get a scratch or bite, so I’m good. We got him in a box and taped it shut and then put air holes in it. Once he was in the box, he stopped crying. Poor little baby. I told her to call me to let me know what’s going on. If the Humane Socicety doesn’t take it, I’m going to call up to 4 Paws (my friendly vet) to see if they’ll stay open so I can have the poor thing euthanized. I honestly can’t afford any extra vet bills right now, so unless the vet would be willing to work for free, euthanasia is the best I can do for him. Poor little kitty.
 
I washed my hands REALLY well too. Don’t want to bring home any kitty diseases to our two felines. It’s always a risk when catching unknown felines.
The humane society told Jen to take the kitten up to animal control (up the street from the HS). The lady at the AC said she would get the kitten to the vet to have it looked at and if it’s "survivable" they’ll have it fixed up and adopted out. Jen said that if nobody came forward that she would be willing to pay the adoption fee and take the kitten when it’s better so the lady took her info and said to call back tomorrow for an update.

Log in to write a note
September 22, 2010

Aww. Poor thing. It must have been so scared!

That is terrible. Here out in farm country, many cats seem to be coyote food.