Halloween Costume meltdown

I was going to wear this dress for the Halloween costume contest at work:

pretty pretty

My mom and I had worked on it to add layers of colored tulle. I even had bright pink tights to wear. Last night as I was trying it on, one of the clear rubber straps snapped in two. 🙁 I tried several different things to fix it. I had some interchangeable bra straps and sewed those on – way too stretchy. I tried velcro tape to velcro the top to a pink spandex shirt I planned to wear under the top. It pulled and wouldn’t work right. So, I had to go to costume 2.0. A costume I actually wore a few years ago when I was pregnant with Evan. It’s a witch costume in all black with florescent green trimmings. Not my favorite, but I’m not missing Halloween dress-up day. I never have.

I’ll fix the ballet costume. I can get new straps at the fabric store and my mom can sew them on. I’ll just save the costume for next year or a party or something. Sigh.

Log in to write a note
October 29, 2009

Just a thought… what about some pink ribbon?

It looks really cute. Sewing would make me have a melt down before I even started the costume.

November 10, 2009

that sounds like it was annoying. I hope you get to use it!