Evan’s ER trip

Evan’s been sick for a couple of days with vomiting and diarhea. Well, he got dehydrated and we had to take him to Cardinal Glennon’s Children’s hospital in downtown St. Louis. It was a very long night. We got there at about 7 and didn’t leave until 11:45. Thankfully, he didn’t need an i.v. yet. He was close. But, since he was (finally) able to keep fluids (given VERY slowly) down with help from anti-nausea medicine we got out without one. But, he was up every 45 minutes crying and needing a drink. Thing is, we can only give him enough for a couple of swallows at a time. Then we wait a couple of minutes, then a couple more swallows. It was a very long night. However, this morning, he finally had a pee. He hadn’t had pee "for sure" in his diaper since about 3 in the afternoon yesterday.

Poor little thing is all drawn and miserable. Still not making tears when he cries and whines for another swallow, but he’s not as lethargic. He’s got the shakes a bit, but I’m not too worried about that. I get the shakes when I’m sick and dehydrated too. He’ll get better as he gets more fluids in him and keeps them down.

Thankfully, my mom is close by. She was watching my neice, Tesia, but we were able to run Kenny over to her house. When my sister picked up Tesia, my mom brought Kenny home and helped him do up all of his Valentines for his pre-school party today (Kenny and I were going to do that). He tried to stay up late to wait for us, but my mom made him go to bed at 9 (late, but not too bad).

I hate emergancy rooms. I hate that my little is sick. I hate that I’m so tired right now that I could gladly go back to bed and sleep the whole day. I hate that Evan has to wait 2 minutes for another drink when I know he’s just SO THIRSTY he can’t stand it.

Log in to write a note
February 13, 2009

poor little one, give him a big hug.

my poor TATOR TOT!!!! Tell him Aunt Kat will call him this weekend to play push the button…my little man…

February 13, 2009

Poor little dude! That isn’t fun for any of you.

February 13, 2009

that’s awful. I hope he gets better quickly!

February 13, 2009

Oh poor little guy! Fingers crossed he turns the corner quickly. *bighugs*