An explanation about the tiger

I got more information on that tiger that Kenny brought home on Monday. Alas, it came from the Pre-K teacher that visited my house for Evan and not Kenny’s teacher. Still not impressed with her.

Kenny was chosen out of all the students recommended by teachers to get the tiger.  He got it for being a great example of the school policy of Keep Your Hands, Feet, and all Other Objects To Yourself (Kyhfooty). Kenny had to go down to the Dean’s office to get it. The tiger was to sit in a place of honor on Kenny’s desk and at the end of the day, return to the Dean’s office. Kenny’s teacher did not stop Kenny from taking it home.  I blame her 100%. I also blame her for not sending a note home mentioning this honor that Kenny received. He had no idea what it meant (even though the Dean explained it to him). He thought he was just getting a prize because he was a good kid. That’s why he thought he got to keep the tiger. But him being rewarded for being a good example is something a teacher should send a note home about, don’t you think? How am I supposed to be proud of my son, if I don’t know what is going on?

I’ve promised Kenny that if his report at the end of the week is all "good" and he’s good and not whiny at the zoo on Saturday, he can get a new tiger at the zoo.

I’ve been completely unsuccessful trying to find an actual replacement locally. I found them on Amazon.com and have it on order, but still.

Log in to write a note
August 26, 2010

that teacher should have been on top of that; especially on the first week! Poor Kenny and Evan!

August 27, 2010

what a crappy lack of communication!

I’m surprised that there isn’t a general note to all to explain the tiger. I am working on my first letter of the year to explain a few things. Kindergarten is confusing enough!