Shadow Work Exercises: Gratitude List

Disclaimer: These are personal to me, this is my gratitude list. It is not your gratitude list. If you feel differently please make your own, respectfully. Thank you.

1. My spouse, my chosen family, and my cherished friends that mean everything to me

2. My former cats, alive and deceased; and my current cat that I love more than I can properly describe with words

3. Having a roof over my head and hot (and sometimes cold) meals to eat

4. Safety and security

5. Books, access to the internet, and the wide array of information at my fingertips (which helped me to better understand my neurodivergence and understanding the humanity in people instead of quickly judging or assuming things – among many many many other things I’ve learned because of this)

6. All the life lessons I’ve received, however difficult and painful many of them have been.

7. Empathy (in myself and others) in the face of a dark, uncaring world

8. Therapy and support groups

9. Scientific research and those who dedicate their lives for the pursuit of public health advancements

10. Life saving medications, vaccines, masks/respirators/PPE, and mobility aids (for myself and others)

11. Mutual aid and community care programs

12. Being childfree (something I have known my whole life that I am proud to have stayed true to)