No More House

Right now I’m living with my parents.  I’m paying off some credit card debt I racked up with my ex and will be debt free, other than school loans, by the end of the year.  I’ve been doing this since August of last year.  It’s an incredible opportunity because I don’t have rent or utilities so I can pay my debt off very quickly.  The only down side is that I’m living 50 miles away from where I work.  This makes my commute about an hour in the morning and an hour and a half back home.  Killer on gas and it makes for a long day.

That being said, I got lucky because my friend Jason is working overseas, so I have been house-sitting for him.  His house is about 8 miles from where I work so it saves me a ton of time.  Plus, Travis and I have somewhere to hang out (he lives with his parents right now also). 

Anyway, I talked to Jason yesterday and he told me that he found someone to rent a room.  She’s moving in Memorial Day weekend, so after that, goodbye house.  One good thing about this is it will free up $100 a month I was paying Jason to have the cable and internet and whatnot stay on at his house.  Bad thing, obviously, is it puts my living situation back where it was.

It’s all good though – it will only be 7-9 months until I move into my own place.  Also, I stayed at Travis’ house Monday night and last night and I am very comfortable staying there and hanging out with him and his parents.  They love me to death and I think they’re wonderful.  I was talking with all of them last night and told them about the house situation, and his Mom told me I was always welcome there.  I told her I didn’t want to overstay my welcome, but she dismissed that quickly.  She said as long as Travis and I weren’t fighting, she didn’t mind one bit lol.  And Travis and I have yet to have a real fight – we’re both calm and collected and talk things through – so that wouldn’t be a problem :).

So yeah, makes things a little more complicated, but it’s no biggie J.  Last night was really relaxing – we all sat on their back deck and his Dad grilled sausages (soooo good), had some dinner, and I did some homework.  Travis and I were in bed by 10, both of us read for about an hour, and promptly passed out.  I slept better than I’ve slept in a very long time.  Woke up a little late this morning, but that’s one of the great parts about my position now – that when I begin my day is a little flexible.

Tonight it’s time for some wine and dinner with a couple of my best girlfriends.  Can’t wait for that J

 

Log in to write a note