What I Want

I want to hug you until my arms hurt
Kiss you until my lips are sore
Look at you until my eyes water
And then I’ll want to do it some more

I want to walk a million miles with you
Meet a million new faces
Eat a million meals with you
And see a million places

I want to stay up all night with you
Talk until my throat is dry
Cuddle up when it gets chilly
And count every star in the sky

I want to do the dorkiest things for you
I’ll dance for you in the middle of the underwear isle
I’ll sneak up from behind and kiss you on the neck
Just to make you smile

I want to listen to your favorite music
Learn the words to your favorite song
Surprise you by showing up with my guitar
And sing it to you all night long

I want to meet all of your friends
See the people and places you know
Ask you to tell me all of your stories
And I’ll Listen to them long and slow

I want to say all the right things to you
Tell you you’re perfect with no flaws
I’ll buy you a rose every day of the week
For no reason other than ‘just because’

I want you to tell me about your dreams
Even if you only remember half
Let me in on your silliest secrets
and I’ll promise not to laugh

I want to introduce you to my friends
I’ll tell them all about you
Bore them to death with all the little facts
And I’ll be smiling all the way through

I want to spoil you to no end
I’ll do the all cleaning and the cooking
I want to tell the world I’ve found the perfect girl
So they can all stop looking

I want to come home everyday
Knowing you’ll be there
I want to walk in the door and hug you
And smell that sweetness in your hair

I want to protect you from everything I can
I’ll fight men twice my size by the double
And as long as you feel safe with me
It will be well worth the trouble

I want to carry your picture around
And insist everyone has to see it
I’ll tell them how I met you
For as long as they’ll permit

I want to wake up next to you
And see your face on pillow above
I want to roll over and kiss your forehead
And say ‘Good Morning, my love’

But mostly I just want to see you
Just as you are right this very minute
Even if you think you look horrible
As always, I know you will be perfect

Log in to write a note
April 12, 2009

Young love, not bitter and twisted like mine

Beautiful. I hope everyone can find this sort of sweet, pure love.

April 13, 2009

Very Very great poetry. Sorry to hear about the dog. Its always sad because they become part of the family

May 23, 2009