NYE email to Jeremy

Happy New Year! Did you make any resolutions? Did you end up watching the sunrise? I am up early as I wanted to write down a dream about the tracking down and death of an IRA assassin. I found my wife this morning sleeping on the couch. She has a hangover the poor dear, too much champagne. I am a bit tired from the early hour but totally hangover free as I was driving last night. We ended up staying up till midnight. We were with friends in a suburb not far away. There were a tribe of children and as nearly as many adults attending. We sat around having a drink and a chat. It was quite amusing watching the kids in action moving like a school of fish from one room to another, no-one wanting to left in the last room in case they missed out on any action, while us adults sat passively in one spot. Originally my friends were going to travel into the central city to watch the 9 pm fireworks but we ended up walking into the street to watch the midnight display. It was impressive.

Thanks for your nice description of the shower that you waited out in the car. Also without that I might not have known that you enjoy sudoku! I am a big fan. I will try my hand at a game most days. I once programmed a generator in Flash. That was quite difficult, working out how to create a random grid to hold the numbers. I forget the exact details now but I think I programmed it to accept any number into the solution that did not double up rather than only match against my expected solution in case there was more than one solution. I don’t possess enough wit to make a program that could fill in the puzzle to check how many solutions there are. Mine just took the random complete grid and removed numbers from the display until there were a reasonable number of empty spaces and took that as the starting point. I actually don’t like playing a sudoku with more than one solution.

Time is moving on though and I better go write down what I remember of that dream while there is any of it left, then I will go for a walk before it gets hot.

peace,

Log in to write a note