check-up: cholesterol 6

 I went to see my gp today to get the results for my blood test. I am still high at a cholesterol count of 6 but down from my last result of 7 so that is good news. I think the desired number is around 4.6. My triglycerides are 3.8 when I think you want to be under 2, so that is not good, but again I am down from last year.

The upshot was we decided to defer going on a health plan for another six months, until after another test then to see if I can keep the levels down myself. If I can lose some more weight it will avoid the plan. To lose some more weight will just involve exercising more, I think my diet is already pretty good. Exercising more is just a matter of making the time.

I should have taken a book to read in the waiting room – I was there for an hour. I finished the history of the 20th century book yesterday. Time to pick out one of the books waiting for me on the bedside table.

 

Log in to write a note
March 24, 2013

good luck! you got this. now you have 6 months to find a new book for the waiting room…