Oh my Gawd Was That a Rat?

So yeah, last night we had a mission.  We were at the squadron when a few of us were called and told there is a mission.  Can we get our crap so we can go?  I of course don’t have my stuff because my qualifications need to be renewed and updated.  We were told Ellington which was close but the coordinates were New Haven.  When there was confirmation of New Haven we were like yeah sure lets go even though it was going to take us an hour to get there.

I was designated as the navagusser so I had the maps while we used the gps to get there.  First coordinates were in the harbor going with the inital information and the second were on land.  We liked land but couldn’t tell what was there, for it was a gray area on the map.  Turned out to be an industrial area.  We were looking at a waste transfer station, a fuel depot and a pods storage facility.  We got it chased to the transfer station thinking it was in a garage filled with trucks and we spent a long time in there.  Then a manager showed up and we explored the yard.  We chased it down to a big building that we were told where trucks dumped their loads. 

We recieved permission to go in there after they turned on the lights.  Huge freakin piles of construction waste in a big metal building.  Hmm explains the weird bouncing.  Using instructions from someone much more experienced in direction finding I was able to track it to a big effin pile then to one specific part of the pile.  Our expert thought I was within feet of the freakin beacon so we had one of our guys start pulling off the pile after we told the supervisor what we needed to do.  We could tell we were getting closer and I ended up climbing on the pile to see if I could pindpoint it.  Then we saw the strobe because it was an EPIRB off a boat.  Second find for me, last one was only like 10 years ago.

How it got there?  Who knows.  Just meant a long smelly night.

Why the title?  In the building we saw rats the size of small dogs.

 

Log in to write a note
March 1, 2012

ryn: thanks for the note 🙂