New Experiences

This is something I have been reflecting on for a while.  In the past couple years I have done a number of things that yeah okay may seem odd but I have never done before or its been a very long time since I have done them.

 

Back over the winter I went to my first college sporting events.  I went to mens and womens basketball games and a womens ice hockey game.  And I got to stand out on the ice which is an odd thing but neat to say I have been that close.

A couple weeks ago I went to my first college football game.  This was at the Coast Guard Academy.

In January I drove cross country to California and saw the Pacific Ocean for the first time.

In August I spent 2 weeks roadtripping around the country.

On that trip I went to Arkansas for the first time.

July 4th of last year I got to sail around Boston Harbor on the USS Constitution.

In August I went to West Point.

There I got to shoot on their Olympic shooting range.

I also got to shoot an M16 in their Firearms Training Simulator.

I’ve gotten to meet an aviation pioneer not once but 3 times.  Its amazing when you meet someone like that and they remember you.

I’ve worked with members of the Air Force Honor Guard.

I’ve been to Washington DC and seen the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

I’ve been to New York City, twice.

I’ve been to the World Trade Center and met a survivor.

 Seen a Guttenburg Bible.

Been onboard a submarine that my father served on when he was in the navy.

Seen a space shuttle.  (Gotta love what you can find in the Air and Space Museum)

Been saluted by a Marine.

Been to a military funeral.

Been to the Mohave Desert

Been amazed by the wide open spaces of the American West.

Seen a freight train pulling freight.

Been to an old time USO show.

Been in a taxi.

Visited a number of colleges and universities that I never really had a reason to go to

Revisited places I have not been to since my childhood

Went on an inverted roller coaster and got scared to death

 

There is so much more.  Thats just things off the top of my noggin right now.

Log in to write a note
September 30, 2007

SOunds cool. I think it’s important to do things we’ve never done before.