How do you explain it?

I have been thining about this.

 

Last night I heard that we have lost our second airplane in 2 months bring it to 5 officers dead.  Three in the first crash which ocured on a search mission and this last one was ferrying planes around.

 

Its like how do we how can we possibly explain to our youngest members the importance of what we do and how ye we try to prevent it but people do die?  I know alot of the cadets cherish the motto of the Air Force Pararescuemen "The things we do so others may live."  But how can we explain that to the parents of our youngest members?  How can we explain it to them?  I know they want to be on the team they want to help and we want to protect them but damn its hard.  I am the safety officer and I have not had any problems on my watch.  I simply have told the cadets that if they get hurt they will die because its less paperwork.  Theys been a joke thats gone through every unit I have been a member of in the last 11 years and we kid about it alot.

 

I have not been on the missions with the dead bodies.  I have debriefed officers that have found dead bodies and dying bodies and other nasty ugly things.  I try to think I could possibly handle all that but I don’t know.  I have faced my own morality and how can I face others?  I try to put a good face to everything but inside its horroribly tough.

Log in to write a note
November 10, 2007

My brother leaves for Iraq in March. We’re all very worried. Safety is hugely important.