Deployment

My sister left today with her unit.  They are going for training and workup before they go somplace to do something.  Listening to one of the officers it was a wait we don’t know how to do that sort of thing.  So it wil be interesting to see what actually happens.

 

The commander (who is not deploying) told the families that he is trying to get it so if the soldiers are still within CONUS at the end of next month that they would get a 72 hour pass.  Thats good but at the same time that sucks because of all the emotions involved of seeing the off again expecially at that time of year.  I do have to give him credit in that they did make it so the soldiers could spend thanksgiving with their families.

 

I talked to the head of the family readiness group and she wanted me to be more involved this time.  Asked if I would visit the unit on drill weekends and if I was going to the holiday party.  At this point its like ummmm I don’t know.  But if I am able to get into the university I applied to for January it may be a bit easier.  I will be on the other side of the city from the unit.  But again I am not sure.  I have been there in uniform and felt so awkward and its like what would I be doing?  I don’t know.  Its one of those really weird situations.  Its like I should because its a good thing but I dunno feels weird.  She knows I am a psudo occifer type because I talked to her about it. 

 

It was hard going through the watching the buses leave again.  It didn’t get any easier.  I didn’t cry untill the call for her company to board the bus came.  Then I lost it. 

 

There is always the other end.  And praying its warmer on that end.  Last time it was so cold my camera froze.

Log in to write a note
November 28, 2007

Hang in there.

November 29, 2007

That’s sad. Sorry.