Poem: Messy Work

Haven’t written any poetry in a while. The first line of this one came to me yesterday evening, and I ran with it.  The title is just a working one, I’ll probably come up with something else.

This weary world is big with God.
The pains come quick, the breath comes dear,
Flesh rages its war; the hour draws near.
Yet still unending minutes plod.

Endless labor leaves us hollow;
Water has broken, blood has been shed.
Racked with pain, we have seen the Head –
But slow as death the rest to follow!

Mother Mary!  Bring us to birth!
Midwife to souls, call joy from pain:
How else dare we still remain
Suspended ‘twixt Heaven and earth?

Father God!  Hold us close, wings unfurled!
Within us you planted good seed,
Now rejoice with us in our need:
"A Man is born into the world!"

I almost feel that as an unmarried man I should apologize for writing this, but I won’t – I’ll just blame it on St. Paul and Romans 8. 🙂

Yes, it’s a bit graphic, but hey – as the working title is meant to indicate, life, death, and salvation aren’t pretty, nice, or hygienic.  Crucifixion hurts.  So does bearing a child.  So does being made a saint.

Log in to write a note
November 23, 2005

I think its always good to remember that salvation isn’t so easy. Great poem.

November 25, 2005

I like this, the poem and concepts within it.

November 26, 2005

This is a very good poem. Keep writing. and praying.

November 27, 2005

Thank you. No apologies needed — it’s a diary, after all. 😉 and RYN: I’d love to tell you about it sometime. In fact, I’d love to talk to you period. It’s been forever. After I move I’d like to see if we can chat sometime soon.

November 28, 2005

That’s a beautiful… poem.