A RESON TO GO.

In the past month I have been entertaining the idea that I might join the Peace Corps after I graduate next Christmas. It would be a two-year commitment. My student loans will not accrue interest while I am gone. The Corps pays all travil, health-care, room and board. There is an added bonus of $6,000 forgiven after the two years is up.  What I would be doing over there would be to teach small businesses in third world countries how to use computers to improve there operations. You know, bring some technical knowledge to places that could use it.  

I have been over-sea’s before, I have lived in Damascus, Syria for a year, Karachi Pakistan for 5 years (now considered one of the most dangerous places for and an American to live in). I graduated from High school in Venezuela back in 98. 

I have experienced a lot of the trauma. My year in Syria was the 90-91 school year so it was interrupted by and evacuation during the gulf war. We were on the last commercial flight out of the region before the air space was closed.  We did not even know this until we landed in Germany. It was very frightening I was 11 years old I went to school that morning it was like any other morning but at the end of the 36 hour day I was watching snow fall on the wings of the airplane as we taxied in to the Salt Lake International Airport, home. This was the first of many years I lived abroad. And over the 8 years I traveled just about every thing that could go wrong did. I lost my passport and wallet on a subway in Germany. I have been hit by a car going 60 Mph in … in… Malaysia? I don’t remember the name of the country well. But the capital is Colombo. … hmnn, Anyways I caught Dengue fever that was up to 104 deg. temps. for a week. My mom was a way that week, Abram, Jer and I all had it the same time. (it was the Mosquitoes, tricky little buggers ).

With all this tragedy I leant that I have the capacity to endure quite a lot, becuse, in truth, it never is as bad as you can fear it is.

Log in to write a note
February 12, 2004

peace corps, hmmmmm…sounds….peaceful

February 14, 2004

I also like the idea of teaching small businesses in third-world countries how to use computers. I can see myself doing that someday as well.

February 20, 2004

wow, i’m so glad you noted my journal. i’m enthralled by your writing as we seem to have similar interests. i’ve thought many a time about the Peace Corps and have vowed to myself to do it at some point in my life. i also have a great interest in various religions/faiths/philosophies. i haven’t read too much of you yet. what spirituality do you practice?