***My gift to the world.***

I’m spending a lot of time by myself in one of the dance studios simply

exploring movement.

Dance is no longer tricks (or even technique) to me, dance is my soul.  It is my religion- it is my God and my lover and my fear and my passion.

Dance is existence.

It is the reason I wake up in the morning and it is the last thing I do before I go to bed.
I thank the Lord for giving me such a beautiful talent because it is only through dance that I have a voice.

In essence, I have no past- I refuse to talk about much of my past because speech/words gives it no justice and brings me back to everything that I have purposely forgotten. 

But this is a blessing because I am thus a listener.  I am able to take other people’s lives and slowly mold their experiences with mine. 

I take their pain and their joy, coalesce it with mine, and create an entity that only exists in my mind and I give it life. 

I give it movement.

It’s like nobody knows who I am but when I walk on stage and begin to dance, there is silence.  I finish and I walk off and people are amazed; the auditorium is in an uproar.  They approach me and say, "-That was so unique, and it’s so precious to see someone actually dancing from their heart."  "-You are such an inspiration to me."  "-You are beautiful."  "-I want to be just like you."  "-Your emotion is overwhelming."  "-I have never seen anything like that before."  "-I love your style."

Every compliment I receive means so much to me, because my audience isn’t watching just a dance.  They’re watching ME, the part of me that begs to be acknowledged for its traumas past endured and enduring.

They’d just lived through every single time I’ve cried, every single time I’ve loved, every single time I’ve laughed in sheer joy, every single time I’ve fled for my life. 

Yet, I’d opened myself up to them so completely and so utterly only because I know that they will never understand the language of movement.

-INMATE-

hip hop dancer, kara gossen

(So I’m upside down and sideways.  What’s new?)

Wearing:: Bleach stained dark gray cut off sweatpants, black graffiti ROXY muscle tank, white Nike hat, black VANS.
Last ate::  BBQ sandwich and beans/corn, and mint choco chip ice cream!
Feeling::  Introspective.  Such a rarity…

Log in to write a note
September 28, 2006

ur welcome glad u enjoyed it……i see ur an icp fan nice to meet a fellow juggalette

September 29, 2006

It’s so amazing when you find that one thing you love – then you don’t need anything else. I may have, I may not. So many things are up in the air in that subject for me, but I’ve got time. 😉 Your writing is really nice, by the way.

October 2, 2006

Thank you for taking the time to express yourself. I am so intrigued…not many people see dance as you and I…pretty cool! Yea, i’m into the hip hop thing…but i would love to learn ballroom dancing, quick step…all of that when dancing with the stars come on..lol! But continue to do what you love and keep inspiring people. take care~

October 2, 2006

that is pretty f*ing tight! I wish I had some talent.

October 2, 2006

hey! thanks yes Xena rocks hard core! i still watch in lmfao ^.^…i added you to my favorites because you are awsome and nice pictures!

October 2, 2006

Yea…i do alot of hip hop and then they pick me to do a sexy dance and i’m like…uhhhh ok..lol! But i have been dancing for a long time but i auditioned to be in this dance acadmey and i got picked, so i’m happy!

October 3, 2006

YOU GO GIRL!!! Thanks for the note. Great to read about another dancer. I so feel what you wrote. Its so much more than just dancing. You’re baring your soul to those who’re watching. Keep it up!