Carnivale

Clown,

decide your face for this day.

A big red smile,

your life is good,

but this is not enough for you.

A frown,

a big blue tear advertising pity.

We show our remorse,

but this is not enough from your audience.

~

Clown,

those tricks you perform with such agility

behind my back,

bring your act to my face.

Dazzle me with your jokes and gossip

starring me.

I need a good chuckle too.

Give me your performance, then take a bow.

Your applause is as empty as your being.

~

Clown,

I’m real, unlike you.

I can face the world without paint,

without pity from my peers,

I don’t need a juggling act.

A fool is what you are,

a begger with an opening act

collecting peanuts of sympathy.

Are they really worth it?

 

Log in to write a note

RYN: Don’t worry about it. I go through phases where I don’t feel like writing in my OD. I’m not sure if I completely understand who the ‘Clown’ is in your poem, but I thought it was interesting. HFS xx