Great Weekend Away

This past weekend, I paid a visit to my better half up in Sudbury. It was about a 5.5 hr drive, but well worth it. If I haven’t said anything since my last few entries (almost a year back) Krys and I are back together, and I suspect we are doing better than we were about a year ago- thankfully. Most things haven’t changed, but I think what needed to has, or it’s been accepted and we’ve been able to work with/on it to move on with the ‘us’ in the relationship.
To put a long story short, we spent the winter in New Zealand touring around and it was a great time- many good memories and laughs. This summer, we are apart again- she being just outside Sudbury at a Provincial Park as Operations Technician (essentially Maintenance Foreman, with more responsibilities). As for me, I’m ‘Crew Leader’ for Maintenance at an environmental education centre just north of Toronto, so this summer, I’m living in the Big Smoke (Toronto). It’s alright. Nothing really to complain about- well actually, there is, but that’s a different entry (stay tuned!)
Anywho, I drove up and we camped in her park Friday night, since she had to work Saturday morning. It was really nice seeing her again- a much needed rendez-vous. We chatted and had some laughs. Saturday, she worked, and I spent a few hours lying on the beach and swimming. I’ve been wanting to do that for many weeks now, and this was the first time I could actually just lay there, and not think about anything else- or have anyone else disturb me; it was just me and my music, the sun and the lake: it was amazing. Thankfully, no burn.
Saturday night, we decided to head into Sudbury and get a hotel room for the night. It was a nice change, and we were able to just lounge, watch tv, go out for dinner (Chinese buffet) and just be together- without the bugs, and her staff knowing where we were camping. We thought of heading to another Provincial Park, but since she works in Parks, she wanted a night away from them; fair enough.
The drive home was long and boring- I was sooo tired, as usual. I didn’t sleep well, but atleast I got to sleep with my lady beside me 🙂 Always a bonus.
Tonight, I’m planning on doing to relaxing stretches, and then heading off to bed. I’m hoping I can get 8 straight hours of sleep. So far this week, I’ve been getting to about the 7 hour mark and still feeling tired. I’m hoping that tonight is the night I can get 8 hours, and feel more re-energised; we’ll see.
Anyway, it’s off to do those stretches for me!

Log in to write a note