Thursday, September 5, 2024

We had a really beautiful sunrise this morning…and it’s my baby’s big 13th birthday today.  All of my kids now are teenagers…I don’t know how that happened.  I sent him a message this morning, he’s been so cold lately.  I really hope it’s not his older brother and sister getting to him…after all the years of shit his dad and wife has been telling them about me (the bitterness and hate in some people is just so ugly, especially when he was the one being unfaithful…I hope I never understand it.)  I do my best – to keep that story short, for now.

I’ve read a few books on narcissistic tendencies and their manipulation…and it’s him down to the last word.  He hides it so well in front of his friends, everyone loves him…my family took his side when I filed for divorce and left the house.  I don’t have the energy to get into the whole story this morning, but eventually, it all comes to light…and I’m so thankful that my family came to realize what he’s really like because it doesn’t take long for him to turn on you if he isn’t getting what he wants.

About that sunrise…

   

..and you know pictures never do justice.

You can only get out to the chalet by boat before the river freezes…once it starts freezing, we can’t go back until it’s safe to cross by snowmobile.  It’s kind of a pain when we only have the pontoon and if my husband leaves…well I’m stuck wherever he leaves me, whether that’s in town or out at the chalet.  It’s a much better place to stay though while our house is still under major construction vs staying with my in-laws.  It’s nice that they let us stay there, but there’s no privacy, my husband currently has a twin bed on the floor in the basement, they are far from clean, tidy people…and it’s been like this since we tore our house down a year ago.  I guess that’s what happens when we have planned to do all of the major work ourselves.

My husband was suppose to go yesterday with some of his guys to start working on putting up the beam to hold the main floor while we rip up all of the flooring to pour cement into the foundation…but the suspension broke on his work trailer so that took a backseat and the plan is to work on it tomorrow.  I am slightly annoyed…I feel like there’s always something that comes up and this has been a MUCH bigger project than it was intended to be (we were only thinking we would have to take off the roof and add a second story on, come to find out all of our walls, every single one, was rotted).  It’s just taking a long time to get it how it needs to be and how we want it to be.  After the floor gets rebuilt, the electrician needs to come and wire the house and then, at least, it’s liveable inside.

It’s been almost 2 years ago now, I found a $50,000 kitchen – cabinets, a full range oven (of which itself costs around $12,000), hood, everything – on Marketplace, probably one of the luckiest finds I’ve ever had.  We got it for $5,000, they even threw in an electric fireplace that wasn’t in the original plans.  My husband then did a floor for them and when it came down to it…we basically paid nothing.  I can’t wait to see it in the house.  That’s another big thing that we need to get installed to make the house functioning for the time being.  It’s hard to help when I’m so far away…but really hoping that things are moving along with immigration quicker than they have been in the past.

I’ll make another post with all of the pictures of that renovation…and then one with my current house in the US.  I love decorating and transforming spaces…if I wasn’t a cosmetologist…that is what I would love to do!

Plans for today – I need to get the laundry done, a good shower (at the chalet we only have river water…so there’s oftentimes it’s full of sand and you know, whatever else is running down the river at the time, haha), I want to make that other post here to document our house progress – I’ve thought about making a blog about it…because the fun part – decorating – will happen eventually!  Maybe I should…it seems like a lot of work, but I’m not really busy here so I might as well do it while I have the time.

xx

Log in to write a note