Sunday, September 8, 2024

I’m already starting to dread having to leave on Thursday…ughhh.  Half of my is ready to get back to my cat, the other half just wants to be here with my husband, working on the house together.  I know that he feels a lot better having me around and taking off some of the weight of our house to-do list.  I just wish I could stay so much longer to get it done.

Yesterday went quite differently than originally planned, but ended better, haha.  My mother-in-law called from the chalet and she needed to back to her car by 2:30, so we had to finish up at the house around 1:30 and grab her and bring her across the river so that she could go to a dinner.  We were only at the house for a few hours.  I got all of the plywood screwed down in both the girls’ rooms.  My husband had everything cut and started ripping up the bathroom flooring so that we could pour the epoxy sealer today and then self-levelling cement tomorrow.

Last night, my husband and I had a quiet, fun night.  We were asked to go out with two different couples, Steven and Sindy, and then Nathalie and Stephan, but we declined both invites…because, in all honesty, we are both introverted homebodies!  I do like going out everyone once in awhile…but I just haven’t been feeling it lately.  It does kind of suck as I’ve been here for 3 weeks and we haven’t gone out and done anything with anyone else really, but spending that time with my husband and family has also been really satisfying.

Today, I finished a few lines of the screwing in the plywood, my husband poured one of the bedrooms with the sealant and quartz so the self-levelling cement will attach better.  Tomorrow he will finish the other bedroom and bathroom.  We also went to the hardware store and bought the doors for the main level.  They will be pocket doors because we don’t have enough room in any of the rooms for the open door to clear.  Hopefully, they’ll look as good as I imagine, haha!  We just bought them primed…I am thinking of painting them black, but that will be a decision when everything else starts coming together.

We ate lunch at my in-laws, then came back to the chalet.  It’s SOOOO cold and windy and raining.  I am ready to start a fire and just relax.  My husband is finishing up some work on the computer and then I’ll probably clean up the chalet a bit, too.

Tomorrow I have hair appointments, one in the morning and one in the afternoon…I need to get to town early because I have to run to the warehouse 30 minutes away before my first one.  My husband will be working at the house for most of the day…that’s where I really want to be.  I am hoping that I can be there with him Tuesday and Wednesday.  Wednesday is my mother-in-laws birthday, I am going to make her dinner…maybe take her shopping for a new outfit depending on what she has planned…oh!  I have to do her hair as well that day.

That’s all of my ramblings for now!  I’m going to try and warm up a little!

xx

Log in to write a note