Results

L5-S1 Herniation to the left side

L4-L5 annular tear

Those are the basic changes.

The MRI from two years ago showed a bulging disc at L3-L4, a possible annular tear at L4-L5, desiccation at L5-S1 and the appearance of arthritis in the lower lumbar.

Can’t say I’m surprised.

Waiting for an appointment to be scheduled with a spinal surgeon.

I heard he is “conservative” with assigning surgery. That could be good because I don’t want an unnecessary procedures. At the same time, I’ve been suffering considerable life altering pain for more than three years already. I’m just wondering now, “How much longer?”

Went for a 17 minute swim today. I was mostly just floating and working my arms. I only used my legs to walk from wall to wall in the shallow end.

Now I’m laying down because I ache quite a bit. It’s all I can do besides take a pain killer. I might take a half of one eventually, but I am trying to hold off for as long as possible. I really don’t like being fuzzy headed. Nor do I care for the itching or the odd body-high.

I had the best highs ever when I was a runner. Those days are over, unfortunately.

Now I’m blogging and trying to tune out the neighbor’s surround-sound. I really hate him. I’ve determined that I will have to keep a 3am to 6pm schedule so that I will have some quiet time to study.

Management knows about this issue, but nothing is being done. We want to move, but don’t have the money to.

Log in to write a note
September 10, 2013

Ugh. You have horrible neighbors too? That really sucks. Love runner’s high! Sorry to hear you can’t run anymore though. 🙁 But swimming is great exercise! *hugs* Hope something positive comes about with your appointment.