Goodbye Gall Bladder

It turns out all that pain I was having was from my gall bladder.  I was feeling all right Thursday morning, so I decided I would go to the gym.  I had a bowl of cereal about 20 minutes before I left, then while I was on the treadmill (all ready thinking it was a bad idea to come to the gym) the pain started getting really bad!  I forced myself to finish 25 minutes, but I was in a cold sweat and in a lot of pain.  I was thinking it was just that bad gas that I get, so I took a gas-x pill, which made me burp, then I threw up a little.  I managed to drive myself home, and I was in even more pain, I threw up about 4 more times, then finally called my mom.  She took me down to the clinic, and amazingly, I threw up more (I only had one bowl of cereal and about 3 glasses of water.) They did some blood work and figured out it was my gall bladder and finally gave me a shot of moraphine.  I felt much better after that!  Then I had to go home and wait 2 hours until my ultrasound at the hospital.  They determined it was really my gall bladder, then we ended up waiting forever for the surgon to get there. (though it turns out, he was there at 5, right after I got done with the ultrasound they could have taken me to surgery, instead, I didn’t get in until like 9pm!)

I had the lapiscopic thing, so I have 5 little holes in me.  The surgery is only supposed to take about an hour, but mine took 2 hours.  I had 29 gall stones that are a little bigger than peas, and 9 smaller ones.  There may have been more, I don’t know if they sent any off to be tested or not. 

Anyway, I’m definately feel much better now, even if there is some soreness from where they cut me open, it’s nothing compared to that gas pain I was having, or that faulty pulled abdominal pain.  But yeah, I should get to bed before my mom yells at me!

Log in to write a note
January 14, 2007

wow, what a day!! what causes gall stones anyway? freaky. i’m glad to hear you’re doing alright now though.