Finally, a NEW JOB!

So I went in for an interview at Wal-Mart on Wednesday the 14th, yes, the place I swore I’d never work at.  What can I say, I’ve become desperate…  So I had an interview with one of the supervisors, and when I was done, she asked if I could come back tomorrow for an interview with one of her managers.  I told her I was working the next day, and I wasn’t sure when I’d be able to come back and do that.  So she was able to track down one to do the second interview right then.  When he was done, he asked if I could wait a little longer for another guy.  I’m all sure, why not, and wondering how many dang people do I have to interview with before they just give me the job?  Well, turns out, they just needed the last guy to approve the job offer. Yeah!  I’m starting at $9.80 an hour, and it’s "part time" which means they won’t give me over 32 hours a week, because heaven forbid you hire someone full time and have to give them benefits!! 

After that, I had to go over to the clinic and pee in a cup.  Wal-Mart had to do the background check and make sure I wasn’t on crack before they could hire me.  ~L~ They called me the next day to let me know everything had come back ok, and the lady said it was the quickest they’d ever gotten everything back. ~L~  I’m thinking, well yeah, it doesn’t take long to find nothing!  She told me they had an orientation class starting on the 20th, but since the 23rd is the one year anniversary of mine and Luke’s first date, and we’re planning on spending the weekend doing something fabulous, I didn’t want to have to miss out on my weekend, so they’re going to hook me up with the next class after that weekend.

Right now, I actually have a pretty positive attitude about the whole thing.  I mean with gas on the verge of $4.00 a gallon, how could I not be happy about not having to drive 67 miles to work!?  Not only that, but I’m sure I’ll be getting a pretty steady 32 hours a week, which means even though I was getting $10 an hour cleaning houses, I’ll be making more in the long run because I really don’t think I’ll be getting 3 or 4 days off a week! 

Oh, which reminds me, when I talked to Christina Wednesday night to find out when I worked next, she said there wasn’t anything until Sunday!  I called her later and told her I was starting this week, even though I’m not, just becasue I really don’t think I could stand another week of driving up there and cleaning!  Well, and since lately none of my days have been over 6 hours, it’s really not worth the gas money.  I like taking vacations between jobs, it’s fun!  ~L~  In my time off all ready I’ve made a cool slip cover for the couch, an apron, and done some cleaning.  Oh, and never fear, I’m still turning in applications, at least now I can focus only on the good jobs!  I put in for para pro positions in all the local school districts, and I’m going to be applying for my emergency substitute certificate, so hopefully I’ll be able to get a job at one of the schools, then I’d be able to have the same hours and days off that Luke does.

Anyway, besides that, I’ve been working on creating a web site for my scrapbooking business, it’s not quite finished yet, but if you’d all like to take a look, here’s the link: http://www.paperdollscrapbooking.com/  and be sure to let me know if there are any questions or comments, advice, whatever! 

Log in to write a note
May 20, 2008

oh good for you! it’s much better to have a job closer to home and you’re making about the same amount. gas is ridiculous and it’s only going to get worse. i like the site! did you build it yourself? i just took a class this past quarter on building my own website. god, what a headache! much love. glad to hear you’re doing well 🙂