90s Kid (kinda)

Ok, here’s something I got off a myspace bulletin and added a few notes to:

YOU’RE A 90’S KID IF:

You can finish this [ice ice _ _ _ _ ]
*this was the first CD I ever bought… ~LOL~

You remember watching Doug, Ren & Stimpy, Pinky and the Brain
*Same thing we do every night, try and take over the world!

AAAAAAAH Real Monsters!
*What? – Wait, are those the things that were supposed to come to life when you broke their chains? If so, I had one, and I LOVED that thing! ~L~

You’ve ever ended a sentence with the word "PSYCHE!"
*Um, maybe…

You just cant resist finishing this . . . "Iiiiiiin west philidelphia born and raised . . ."
*I actually had to finish singing the entire song… in my head, not out loud!

You remember TGIF, Step by Step, Family Matters, Dinosaurs, and Boy Meets World.
*I loved TGIF… it was the best thing about Friday

You remember when it was actually worth getting up early
on a Saturday to watch cartoons.
*~sigh~ I really miss those days. I mean, not only was it worth getting up early, but they went on longer in the day too! (I suppose at least now they have entire networks deticated to cartoons, so it’s all good!)

You got super excited when it was Oregon Trail day in computer class at school.
*Lisa has just died of dysentery. (I have a game that’s Amazon river, like Oregon trail, but cooler! – If you can even wrap your head aroudn such a thing!)

You remember reading "Goosebumps"
*A little past my time, I was reading King & Koontz by then

You took plastic cartoon lunch boxes to school.
*Nah, I still had a metal one!

You still get the urge to say "NOT" after (almost) every sentence . . . not
*My friends did it A LOT, it was so annoying!

When everyhting was settled by rock paper scissors..or bubble gum bubble gum in a dish…and even better daddy had a donkey inky binky bonky.
*If anyone knows the rest of this "daddy had a donkey inky binky bonky" I’d like to know how it goes

When cops and robbers was a daily activity.
*I don’t think I ever played that

When we played Hide and go seek until our legs grew numb.
*In my grandpa’s junkyard in the summer, because running & hiding around a lot of really hot, rusty, pointy metal is always fun!

When we used to obey our parents
*I can’t believe kids get away with the things they do now a days. (lord I’m old)

You used to listen to the radio all day long just to record your FAVORITE song of ALL time.
*I still do that sometimes…

"Where in the World is Carmen San Diego?" was both a game and a TV game show.
*I liked the occapella singers

Captain Planet. He’s a Hero.
* I watched it once, it was a dumb show

You knew that Kimberly, the pink ranger, and Tommy, the green ranger, were meant to be together.
*This too is a little before my time.

You remember when Super Nintendos and Sega Genisis became popular.
*I remember when basic Nintendo became popular… hell, Atari even… (so, so old… ~L~)

You always wanted to send in a tape to America’s Funniest Home Videos . . . but never taped anything funny.
*Actually, it was pretty funny stuff, just never got around to sending it in.

You remember watching Home Alone 1, 2 , and 3 . . . and tried to pull the pranks on "intruders"                                                                                                                                                              *I never tried any of that stuff, I knew I’d get in trouble for it! But I did try setting traps for our cats all the time… They never would walk over my big holes with leaves over them!

You remember watching The Magic School Bus, Wishbone, and Reading Rainbow on PBS.
*I *heart* reading rainbow! I still want to sit cross legged on the floor every time I watch it.

You remember when Yo-Yos were cool.
*Yo-yos were cool?

You remember those Where’s Waldo books.
*Would that many people hanging out in one place really be wearing that much white & red stripe?

You remember eating Warheads.
*What?

You remember watching the 1st Batman, Aladin, Ninja Turtles, and 3 Ninjas movies.               *I kinda  want to watch 3 ninjas now that I’ve been reminded that it exixts… Oh! AND Ninja Turtles!

You remember Ring Pops.
*I never got one though

You remember drinking Surge, and Tang.
*Hey, I just had some Tang yesterday!

If you remember when every thing was "da BOMB!"
*Somewhere I have an old notebook filled with every slang term my friend Edin and I could think of, or had made up!

When they made the new lunchables so that you could make pizza AND tacos.
*I remember when I was VERY disappointed by how bad they tasted!

You remember boom boxes vs. cd players.
*I wanted to take my boom box with me places so I could be cool, but my parents would never let me.

Making those little paper fortune cookie things, and then predicting your life with them.
*Cootie catchers! OoOh… I think I’m gonna go make one now!

You played and/or collected "Pogs"
*Those dumb little cardboard things? I still don’t get that.

You had at least one Tamagotchi, GigaPet, or Nano and brought it everywhere.
*Never had one

You haven’t always had a computer, and it was cool to have the internet.
*The little town I grew up in didn’t get internet until about 9 years ago…

You watched the original cartoons of Rugrats, Power Rangers, and Ninja Turtles.
*Ninja Turtles are the best!

Michael Jordan was a king.
*What ever happened there anyway?

YIKES pencils and erasers were the stuff!
*Hey! I still have some of those! They’re nifty!

All your school supplies were "Lisa Frank" brand.
*I still have some of those too!

You remember when the new Beanie Babies and Talking Elmo were always sold out.
*I don’t actually, my home town

was too small to have things like stores! (Well, there were stores, just not ones that sold things like that!)

You collected those Beanie Babies.
*Nope, again, I didn’t live near any major (or minor for that matter) retail locations.

Carebears
*The ORIGINAL carebares, like back when they were first created, but I just had one, I didn’t collect them.

Gak was the coolest stuff invented.
*It’s still in the top 10

Lambchop’s song never ended.
*Isn’t it kinda sick to name a lamb Lambchop? That actually bothered me as a kid.

The old dollar bills.
*I’m starting to forget them… but I’m sure I have one around somewhere!

Silver dollars, which were cool to have.
*I still have some of those too!

You remember a time before the WB.
*I remember a time when we only had 4 channels!

You collected all the Troll dolls
*Not all of them, but I did have a small tribe

If you even know what an original walkman is.
*Squeee! That was one of my favorite things! (I am actually so far behind the times that I still have a walkman that I take to the gym with me… if you knew how many times I’ve dropped that thing, you’d know why I don’t up grade!)

You remember wanting to sit on the orange Nickelodeon couch.
*Before my time, and I think before we ever got cable.

You’ve gotten creeped out by "Are You Afraid of the Dark?"
*Just a little!

You know the Macarena by heart.
*Never knew any dance by heart

"Talk to the hand" . . . enough said
*Isn’t that still going on?

You always said, "Then why don’t you marry it!"
*Hey, I think I said that to my mom yesterday…

You know the significance of the number 23.
*I don’t actually, what is the significance?

You went to McDonald’s to play in the playplace.
*Before you had to worry about a syringe needle ending up in one of your kids…

You remember playing on merry go rounds at the playground.
*Are there not merry go rounds at the playground any more? (If you ever can’t afford beer, spend some time on a merry go round, same effect.)

When light up sneakers were cool.
*Light up sneakers ARE cool, I all most bought a pair of high heels a while back that had lights in them… ~L~

When you rented VHS tapes, not DVDs.
*No more "be kind, rewind" Now they need a sticker now that says "keep your grimey fingerprints OFF the play side!"

When gas was $0.95 a gallon & Caller ID was a new thing.
*Thinking about how much I spent tonight to fill up my tank, that kinda makes me want to cry…
When we recorded stuff on VCRs.
*I’ve got tons of stuff recorded on VHS!

When we called the radio station to request songs to hear off of our walkmans.
*I was never allowed to, all the radio stations were long distance!

Before we realized all this would eventually disappear.
*Some things you don’t miss until they’re gone. 

Who would have thought you’d miss the 90’s so much!!!!!
*I don’t really miss too much of it. Maybe TGIF & .95 gas…  

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2007

Funny! We did “Eenie-meenie, ecka-becka, R, A, Double Decka, Chicka Pokka, Ollah-poppa, Ohm, bomb, boom!” Hehe…that’s how I preferred to settle stuff. Oh, and about two years ago I was dating this guy and we were trying to decide who had to pay for the pizza and we did rock-paper-scissors and I won, so he had to pay and I thought the guy in the lineup behind us was going to bust a gut laughing at the 27 and 34 year olds settling who had to pay by rock-paper-scissors.~jo

January 30, 2007

omg, i remember all of those things. except the “real monsters”? hmm.

Yeah, WHAT IS the significance of the number 23??

Ohhh weirdness. I was just randomnly reading a gossip blog and look what popped up: THE NUMBER 23. (It’s a new Jim Carey movie.) http://perezhilton.com/topics/jim_carrey/