amygdala

so I wrote this piece of flash fiction. . .

 

My amygdalas are over active. For that I am grateful. Amygdalas are those ancient nodes in the brain. The dear, sweet, thoughtful amygdala, deals with everything negative for us using our dreams. Every nightmare ensures a happier life. A confrontation with a rapid wolf. An empty house with a crumbling fridge. Dark streets with broken street lamps. A wedding alter.
How do I know that I love you so much? My amygdala pretends that you have died, and I am devastated. How do I know that you were attached to me? Your amygdala told you that I had left, and you were devastated.
Your amygdala stopped working. You had had a stroke. That part of your brain just didn’t work anymore. You became sad, your amygdala had left you to deal with the negative all by yourself. You weren’t you anymore. Depressed and detached, solemn and scared, and then nothing.
My amygdala tells me you have died, and I am devastated.

 

And then I listened to a song by everclear called "now that its over" there is a line in it that says "my bad dreams just don’t seem the same baby without you" and a following line "my nightmares just dont scare me now baby without you."

 

I wonder if they knew about the amygdala when they wrote the song? I bet not. I’m sure not. But its nice to dream isnt it? 

 

 

 

Mark and I are still together- nothing bad happened. But we fight a lot. . .

It always seems to happen that way. . . The break up cycle has begun. . . I don’t want it to.

 

kiss the frog!

Log in to write a note