Looks like I got back just in time for the end.

I’m rather disappointed to read the announcement about OD shutting down.  I just came back here a little over a week ago because I missed the community feel this place often has.  Plus, I’ll admit that this place will always feel special to me as the place where I started blogging.

In many ways, I suppose it’s amazing that the site lasted this long.  As the DiaryMaster notes, this is not a major corporation.  The fact that a site essentially owned by a private person lasted one and a half decades and was able to manage such a large userbase that entire time is amazing.  It’s not something you see too often, to be honest.

I guess I’ll be moving to ProseBox, as I already set up a profile and a few different books there already.  I still don’t like it as much as I do here, as it doesn’t (yet) have circles or the ability to find posts and books based on topics or interests.  Hopefully, that’s a feature that will be added in the future.

In the meantime, I hope to keep posting here until the bitter end.  After all, it’s been a fun ride.

 

Log in to write a note

EWS is currently working on a site that will be similar to OD. Something you may want to keep an eye on. http://easydiary.ewsentinel.com/ He hopes to have it up in March. I think the DM should have released how much it was actually costing, and then how much he was getting via subs & ads. But then, that might have turned out that the site could keep running afterall, and I think he just had enough of it. Wish he sold it off, personally.