Community as Spiritual Discipline

My previous post about what Pagan community looks like got me thinking about community and community building in general. To me, community building is in itself a spiritual discipline. The meal after a ritual is as important as the ritual itself. The regular covered dish dinners (one of the things I think the Baptist church I grew up in got right) are as important as the Sunday morning worship service. In fact, the charismatic church I attended my senior year in college understood this so much that they started having covered dish lunches every Sunday afternoon after the service!

From a Pagan perspective, each individual contains a spark of the Divine in their being. Perhaps some traditions don’t express it in exactly those words, but I think it’s universally (or nearly so) expressed in one way or another. For example, the Norse traditions hold to the idea that humans are descended from the gods. (How literally or symbolicly this should be taken may be debated, but it’s there.) So there’s that sense of Divine origin and connection.

When I consider human relationships while holding this perspective in mind, even the simplest interactions become profound. Each time I laugh with a friend, share in his joy, or help dry her tears, the divine spark in me is reaching out and connecting with the divine spark in the other. In that moment, we are recognizing each other’s sacredness. A shared meal becomes a moment that strengthens our spiritual connection. And such connections should be strengthened, as they promote growth, both individually and collectively.

Log in to write a note

I have long considered that there is no activity more sacred that deep communitcation between two human beings. Sadly, I find this a little difficult, being a heathen in a small town in the bible belt.

“A shared meal becomes a moment that strengthens our spiritual connection.” Which is PRECISELY why they say that children who eat at a dinner table with the family do better in school (and life) than children who do not have that “ritual”. And I think many churches are realizing this also. I know that my church has a monthly “at the church” potluck, but EVERY week there is one hosted…

May 29, 2008

…at another church member’s house that all are welcome to join (just let the host know, lol). I think it’s IMPERATIVE in close relationships to have that time together.

Agreed. Different terms.. fellowship, building up, loving on people, etc., but same concept.

May 30, 2008

yup. i pretty much agree with all the above. sharing a meal helps build relationship and community.

yep, I agree also. ryn: thanks..it just hurts a little.