The Meaning Of Life

A heavy topic to be sure, and one that’s been on my mind recently.

What is the meaning of life?  Or, to be more specific, what is the point?

I have no need to collect material goods – I reject corporations and accumulated wealth.  I don’t need a Louis Vuitton bag or a Hummer to satisfy myself in life, and I live very simply.  If it were up to me we wouldn’t have a tv at our place.  I’ve also come to terms with the idea that I will never be able to own property, or at the very least that it’s unlikely I ever will.  I simply don’t have the income, and don’t anticipate having the income to be able to afford a place of my own in a city where property values increase by the hour.

So, having reached that much of a decision – what’s the point of my own life?  If I’m not working to pay a mortgage or own 3 cars, why am I alive?  What do I want to do with my life, and what am I doing to get to that point?

I’m satisfied with where I’m at right now, but where do I want to be when I’m 35?  55?  75?

So, putting it out there to any readers who’d like to take a stab at it – what is the point of your life?  What do you want your life to stand for, or what does it mean to you?  What are some of your life goals?

Log in to write a note

I change history, every day, one knucklehead at a time.

Cat
June 11, 2006

I want to leave work behind that will continue to make a difference in people’s lives. While I’m alive, I strive for a balance between idealism & realism, again, trying to make a positive difference in the world. Specific goals include helping destigmatize abortion, make same-sex marriage legal, and reclaim originalism for liberals.

June 11, 2006

Wish I could tell ya.

I dont think I ever want to know the meaning of life, if there is a set meaning. I guess for me it’s just getting the most out of every experience. I want to experience everything. Some of my goals: Go to Africa and work in an AIDS hospital; work with kids and women on sexual health education in poor areas (US and abroad); I just want to help people. I think the line from Fight Club is for you:

“I say, never be complete.”

June 12, 2006

i don’t think a person can ever really know that. life changes so much and so often that there will never be a definitive answer to your question. so “i don’t know” is the perfect answer.

June 13, 2006

i will get back to you about this. 😉 L

And what have you indulged in?

Vancouver is home to many legendary punk bands, and I’ve heard they have a great scene – If anyone’s playing while I’m there, we’ll have to make it a point to go. We can even spike your hair up all crazy and give each other fake tattooes with a black marker. 🙂