Stirring The Fucking Pot

First off, those of you who are on my favourites list can reference back to this entry in order to get some background on what I’m about to discuss in this entry

If you don’t give a shit about queer politics then feel free to skip this entry, I won’t hold it against you – but I do think you could learn something.

Last year the Vancouver Dyke March held an event that was a "By women, for women" stripshow, and the trans and genderqueer communities in Vancouver got up in arms about the wording for the show, which was not inclusive of those particular groups, who should be included in the VDM mandate and therefore fundraising events.  At the time I was involved with another board member who identifies as genderqueer, and she proceeded to book the anti-party and then failed to attend meetings in the month leading up to the march, as well as the march itself.  I remained on the board and continued to fight to change the wording for the event, and was successful in my efforts.  Thanks to my continued dedication to the effort I was able to convince the board to add the byline "transfolk inclusive" to the event.

I fought for an entire year – just to get that byline added.  And I had to bring in a trans education counsellor to do an hourlong workshop (without our president and former vice-president there – because it wasn’t "important enough") in order to get the wording changed.  And during this time I have been the PR person for the VDM, refusing the comment on the subject and defending the society against negative publicity.

I am still involved with the board member who bailed without resigning last year, after over a year (on and off).  I have 2 additional lovers, one of whom is my girlfriend – both of whom have also identified as genderqueer at various points.  And my current crush is trans.  I identify as queer, and my lovers are not dykes – they are genderqueer and trans activists.

I’ve written my resignation letter to the VDM and had planned to submit it at Wednesday’s meeting, which was cancelled when not enough people showed.  Now I’ll be sending it to the VDM board tomorrow night before I leave for the "By women, for women – transfolk inclusive" event, which I will be performing at.  And at the end of my number, when I take off my last article of clothing (my dress), I will have the word "MAN" written down my back in permanent marker – my ex’s idea.

I may be a terrible rep for the VDM, but I’m a fantastic self-publicist.

Log in to write a note
May 21, 2006

Ooooooh. Snap. Perhaps you could draw the “male” symbol (oval with an arrow sticking out) around your nipples too. I’m chock full of good ideas. Especially when those ideas involve boobs. I’m sorry it didn’t work out the way it should have, but it sounds like you’re rebounding from it and moving on. I admire that.

May 21, 2006

aw i wanna go to pride in vancouver again. 🙁 well ima be in italy shoop a loop! 😀

May 21, 2006

Apparently it’s not blatant enough – I just talked it over with my gf, and she was like “Isn’t that just man-hating?” So distraught.

Cat
May 22, 2006

wow…huge applause and kudos to you!!

you make me sooooooooo happy in the pants. You have some serious ovaries hun (I dont say “have/takes balls, but you know why). ::standing ovation:: The male symbol around your nipples idea makes me giggle. I like it.