Raining In The City

It’s raining in the city tonight.  I didn’t take this picture, but I know this part of town quite well – from shopping trips with friends, sushi dates with lovers, and trips down this street in the back of cabs, on my way to a call or on my way home, I know this street quite well.

It’s October, and this is when it starts to get cold.  It’s at that point where it’s uncomfortable to be outside at night and people are switching to their more winter-esque gear.  I like doing the layering thing, and ’tis getting to be that wintery feeling party season, where standing outside the bar for your cigarette is something that only the actual smokers do.

I like October – it’s a good month for hooking up and for meeting people.  I’m also looking forward to the end of November through till early January, when people are in full holiday party mode.  My last week of classes is the last week of November, and after that I know that it’s a "let’s stay inside and keep warm" kind of partying until after the New Year.  This isn’t just my substance addiction talking (though I admit that plays into it) – my business sense enjoys this season of the year as well.  Networking season.  Promotions season.

Queers don’t really do the holidays as much as most people – we’re each other’s families, because the people we’re related to by blood don’t really have as much in common with us as we do with each other.  Our holiday season is Pride weekend, in the middle of the summer.  Christmas is a reminder of just how little we understand the people we grew up with.

I’m looking forward to the parties.  But for now I’m also enjoying listening to the rain fall in the dark.

Log in to write a note

i know its too damn cold to smoke but i have to anyways! addiction is annoying. that picture is beautiful though. i love it.

Cat
October 24, 2006

nice pic… feels familiar (chicago?)(don’t have to answer!)

October 24, 2006

Hi, I just stopped by to say hello and tell you that I changed my diary name. I hope you’re doing well. That’s my new name below.

October 24, 2006

Where ever that is is so pretty. i love the cold thats why when i woke up this moring and it was 50 outside i felt like i was in heaven(Florida blows).i love the city any night life city area….even though the center of my universe is New York City. Keep warm and as safe as possible

October 24, 2006

that picture is beautiful! what i one day aspire to do! now that you mention it i quite like october/november time too! xx

October 24, 2006

it’s still hot here! lol, but the it is getting a little colder, but i still sweat walking back to my room. lol I love the fall, but I hate christmas. I’ve been actually wanting to write an entry about it. But yeah, Pride weekend…i still haven’t fully gotten to celebrate it in all it’s queer glory! just little bits of it. So this year I plan on doing that. Good entry, I liked it a lot.

October 26, 2006

RYN: Well, I am hoping it was worth it, too late to turn back now! I think ill like it once the colour fades out some (in a week Im told) and the swelling and pain go away!)

What a great picture. It looks so alive, like things are happening – In other words, not at all like Nebraska. I miss the rain too.