Putting Ducks In Rows: Less Exciting Than It Seems

My average day consists of waking up at about 9:45am, working cash in a Mexican restaurant from 10:30am to 5pm, going to either school or yoga (or school and then yoga), coming home to spend an hour or two dicking around on the internet, then sleep and repeat.  I rotate weeks of smoking and not smoking weed, go out drinking at the bar or a show an average of one night each weekend, and spend the rest of my weekends either with my lover or my family or both.

I read books on the bus, go to counselling once a week, look at the "Help Wanted" section in the local papers, and continue laying the foundation for a different life – a more exciting, more vibrant, more fulfilling life.  I don’t know where I’m going, don’t know what I want, and don’t know when I’ll get there.  It’s kinda hard to come up with fresh new exciting things to write about, either as journalling or structured pieces when your goals for the year are to get your credit in line, pay back your debt, and open an RRSP to start saving for retirement.

Sometimes I meet new people, but it’s hard to get emotionally involved with them when so much of my focus is inwards right now.  I meet people I want to have sex with and I pursue them out of self-imposed direction to avoid getting too attached to one person (a destructive situation in my case).  I pursue for the sake of pursuing, because I know that once you fuck someone they expect to fuck you too and the idea of trusting someone new that much terrifies me these days – unless I can ditch them when I leave and never see them again.

I promise people that I’ll meet up with them for coffee, drinks, or general conversation and then don’t follow through because making time for them would mean less time to sit alone and reflect.  I plan to do things that will inspire me but procrastinate to the point that I don’t start on any of them: gardening; writing; meditation.  I tell people I can’t work on events that are coming up due to "health issues" and bail when I’m forced to take projects on.  At least once a day I feel like crying, but don’t.

I think a lot but realize that people don’t want to hear it – self-reflection is only interesting to the person doing it, and not only do I not want to bore people, I also don’t want to expose myself that much anymore.  I feel dull and boring, find others dull and boring, and yearn for excitement, all while realizing that this process is crucial to being able to function properly and become a stronger person.

I might be proud not have a major substance abuse problem, a job in the sex industry, or a wild lifestyle anymore, but I miss the adrenaline and endorphins more than anything.

Log in to write a note

Everyone needs their own private mountaintop. ryn : Maybe a couple of grams. Too bad you’re retired.

Cat
May 15, 2007

i understand missing the excitement. but somehow, the urges do fade after a while.

May 16, 2007

i know exactly what you mean…i crave it too.

May 16, 2007

Regarding your last note, Well I dunnoh if those laser thingies fit ALL guns, but they are pretty interchangable. I don’t know Canadian laws, but I know you can get those as well as silencers over the net…how frickin scary is that?!? As for zombies and Open Diary ladies. Zombies = easy verbal target, everyone hates them. Open Diary ladies = Goddesses who’m I probably never meet. Stay cool.

RYN: Funny you say that…after looking through your OD I thought the same thing. Next time I am in Canada I will call you. lol

RYN: it was very sad indeed…and now i am horny and home alone. 🙁 I came home thinkin i would find my love but nope she is still out….time to take care of things myself.

I disagree that self reflection is boring, because others may be going through the same thing. I do relate (very much so) about find life boring, mundane, and missing the excitement of the life I once lived. I miss the money, power, respect, the women LOL I miss it and daily I have to fight to resist these impulses. I lead a life very similar: work, then school, do domestic sh!t, play with my dog,

relax with my lover and then go to sleep and do it again. I go out an average of once a week to the club or to a show and yeah it is getting so regular and average and I just feel very much the same. You are not alone in those feelings.

RYN: Basically, I was a hustler. I helped my friends find tricks and I would provide protection by going with them to their appt.’s (secretly) armed. Me coming along was part of the deal. Sometimes I turned tricks but only provided service as a mistress. I hope you don’t judge me because I never did anything wrong to any woman, I wasn’t a pimp and I never tried to turn any woman out.

I helped my girls stay safe and not ever get into any trouble and we made money and that was that. I hustled a lot but like I said I never turned a girl out. These were my friends and some were lovers. We just didn’t have sh!t and hustling sex among other things was a way to live the lifestyle we wanted. Anyway, I understand how you have a lot of those issues, I had to go through a lot to change

my thought patterns and behaviors. I took a lot of hard work and no I am legit, and feel better about myself. You know what is funny, I mostly lean towards the submissive after all of that…I had to be so strong and in control and now I all I crave is to be dominated and controlled. 😉

May 19, 2007

RYN: i have a lip ring,a monro,Bridge of my nose,both my nipples, and ears…wanna play connect the dots?

RYN: Thank you for understanding, I have never told anyone else besides my current g/f. And yes, that is exactly what I meant! Hope your weekend went well.

May 22, 2007

really? i love reading people’s self-reflections, but then again..i feel like i am so boring when i do it myself. oh well, who cares?? it’s my journey, and it sure as hell is yours! miss you, what are you up to this summer?