Lesbian Drama – Why, Oh Why???

And here I was, merrily living my life thinking that I would never get involved in lesbian drama.  Hahaha!  how naive of me!

Yesterday afternoon my ex’s new lover broke it off with my ex in order to pursue me.  Now my ex is super-pissed off at her, and she’s told me that if I pursue the lover, she won’t speak to me anymore.  But the lover is really quite frisky and cute, and really into me.  But my ex needs me as a friend, and can’t have me as a friend if I’m fucking her ex lover who fucked her over.

See, it sounds really simple and easy ("STAY AWAY FROM THE LOVER. BE FRIENDS WITH YOUR EX. DUH") when it’s written down and read, but with all the history and bullshit behind everything, it always feels more complicated for me.  I think that other people would think that I’m making things unnecessarily complicated, but I just think I have very different morals from most other people.

I brought home the hottest of my hotties last night (and yes, I have a few lined up).  We had some fun little times in my bedroom, but both our pants stayed on and done up.  I think I figured out why she hasn’t had sex with me yet – 5 minutes before she had to go she asked me if I have safe sex.  I showed her my stuff (lube, dental dams, etc), and she asked me "Yeah, but do you ever use them?" to which I had to sheepishly answer that no, I don’t.  Or at least I haven’t.  We had a nice little chat about safe sex, and she basically gave me shit for not having it.  I use a condom everytime I have sex with a guy, but I have never used protection with a woman.  Yeah, I guess that’s pretty dumb…

I’ve never had a female lover or potential lover, bring up safe sex until now.  Never.  I’m now asking around to see what other lesbians in the community think about safe sex, because it seems like no one’s having it…  Any lesbian who’s reading this – what is your take on safe sex?  Have you had it?  Would you?  Is it common in your community?

It’s weird, in high school we had days, weeks, devoted to learning about safe sex, and it focused 100% on condoms and straight sex.  The only time a dental dam was ever mentioned was one time in Grade 10 –  the substitute nurse (not the regular one!) was doing a safe sex talk to our guidance class, and she briefly mentioned and showed us a dental dam and showed us how to use it by pressing her tongue up against it.  That was it.  That was my exposure to safe sex for lesbians.  Someone needs to change that…. (can you see the little wheels in my head spinning already?)

I’m outta town this coming weekend… I am so fucking stoked for it!!!

Log in to write a note
May 17, 2005

hey can I ask you a question thats completley unrelated? How did you get that format for your diary? Note me back plzzzz much apreciated! x

What may be easy for one to decide may be the hardest for another. which makes since but not always easy to see. but just as long as you are happy with the decision thats all that matters. a true friend wouldn’t make you chose. as for safe sex the only time that i have used it is when using dildos. but thats how it is here. have a great time this weekend!

May 17, 2005

ah, lesbian drama. sigh. as hard as we try to avoid it at all costs, somehow it always manages to find us, eh? aw well. what can ya do… of course the answer Seems simple.. but it never is. keep your chin up. things’ll work out.. i’d uh. keep hands off the ex’s ex though.. dangerous territory.. take care. H

May 17, 2005

..yeah.. it’s never as simple as it looks on paper is it!? As for the safe sex – never have with a woman and have never been with anyone that’s wanted it. And can you blame us!? Dental dams? *shudder*

May 17, 2005

nah… this safer sex thing – you just wouldnt. no straight people use dental dams, i dont think its really an issue.

May 17, 2005

never having been with a girl, or practiced safe sex (which was stupid, but only once in a fifteen year old dangerous way)… I’ve never heard of a dental dam. The name sounds awfully… unsexy? lol but good luck. especially with that ex situation. it sounds sticky :S

May 17, 2005

This is such and irrelevant note. Lesbian drama, my favorite kind. All shit and in the end it doesn’t matter what you do you’re still gonna get screwed and not in a good way. The safe sex thing…I’ve never needed to use anything I’ve only been with one person and we’ve known each other basically all our lives and both got tested before we did anything.

I liked that bit about safe sex. Probably my one big reason for not doing anything with anyone. You can never be too safe these days. O_o