Instant Gratification Generation

Wikipedia on Generation Y:
Generation Y is one of the most medicated generations in human history, with many Generation Yers prescribed antidepressants and other behavior-altering drugs like Ritalin, which has existed since the 1950s but was seldom prescribed before the early 1990s based on the relative lack of brain knowledge prior to the 1990s, the “Decade of the Brain.” It is interesting to note that Generation Y is more depressed and world aware (via the Internet) than any generation previous, which has led the Generation gaining a stereotype as the “sad generation.”

We have our iPods, cell phones, emails, Myspace, thousands of channels with optional Tivo, blogs, and a complete lack of job security or faith in any level of government. We vote in record-low numbers. We live in a world where we can keep in touch through a blog, Myspace profile, or text messaging. We use Google and Wikipedia to write papers. We are Generation (wh)Y.

Why, as in…

Why bother to vote when our politicians are all corrupt and don’t keep campaign promises anyways? Besides, why bother to even get involved when candidates don’t address real issues and there are no candidates that represent us anyways?

Why bother trying to get people riled up and concerned about something when they’ve been conditioned by the media to accept the advertising brainwashing that goes on without our consent?

Why bother trying to save the environment when rolling down the streets downtown there are military vehicles that have been modified to include seat warmers and a vanity mirror so that materialistic assholes can take up more space?

Why bother with getting a BA when the most that’ll get you these days is a stylish job as a Starbucks barista or a pat on the back?

I know that when I look at my own life I can find meaning in what I do, and I can find reasons for myself to go on. But looking at what goes on around me, either locally or globally… It can get really depressing sometimes. Sometimes that can be the hardest time to avoid lighting up or busting out a rail – when I think about how much more there is to life. Some people have it so hard, and so few people are in control of how things go for them.

There is a global community trying to create change and working together to have some effect. While some people work together brilliantly and do amazingly activist things, I’m often turned off by the amount of ignorance even within the activist community. There is so much prejudice and petty bickering in this world and it just gets so incredibly fucking exhausting…

I know there are people out there who understand where I’m coming from on this, and I know there is a generation of us out there who understand what it feels like to look at your future and see no job security, an environment that’s been raped for all it’s worth, and political leadership that is so corrupt it doesn’t even matter who you vote for. I really need to get back out there and find people to talk to about this in my travels. I feel comforted knowing that it’s not just me, and it’s not just where I’m living – it’s a massive population of us, disillusioned and lost.

Log in to write a note
October 10, 2006

I think generation Y will crack in two, the Y nots, and the Y the hells. The Y nots, will expound the virtues of stupidity, while the Y the hells will become so riled and so world aware, that they will institute a global revolution. Just needs a few more decades… !

I’m one of those people who understands. I see a reflection of this ennui, this passive, sad acceptance, in almost every facet of the media. It’s all geared towards “don’t rock the boat, don’t get upset, just go buy something nice, eat comfort food and if it’s REALLY bad, take some pills.” Here, read the books that Oprah prescribes, buy an SUV and watch “Everybody loves Raymond.” I think I’ll write more about this when I e-mail you back.

October 10, 2006

I’m definitly going to be a Y the hell. lol..if you travel my way, we can talk about it. 🙂 I like having conversation like this only because it helps me learn even more and i am always looking for that. So let me know when San Francisco is on your schedule! <—-understands where you're coming from.

Generation X-cuse may be more appropriate, because so mant of them have an excuse for why they can’t learn, why they can’t find or hold a job, or why they can’t find their own version of happiness. It’s always somebody elses fault, X-cept their own. You find reasons to go on, instead of excuses not to. That’s why you’re different. Keep writing your book of life.

October 10, 2006

i complete understand some from Genration Y want to destory others want to build a better future. i think its funny though That its the most depressed genration…yet we know the most…we’re not as blind to corruption as our parents but we’re still not happy.Correct me if i’m wrong Second thing….when was the last time you talked to a friend in person and took a pic just for a memory not for my-

October 10, 2006

myspace,for blogs for anything but to put it in an album…yes i’m a part of the myspace era…but i also do a little more then just that ya know? i Agree with silent king…i think we look for excuses to not better ourselves…but we just don’t…

October 10, 2006

you raise excellent points. i could go on and on about the angst i feel for this generation… i’ll save that for another time, though.

Cat
October 10, 2006

wanna borrow some of my X? 🙂