Gifts and books and things

I finished the His Dark Materials series. The first book took a bit of getting in to. But I eventually really liked it. The second was good, but not as good as the first. I think my favourite was the third. I’m interested to see how the movie turns out. (The Golden Compass).

Now I’m reading The Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore. OMGWTFBBQ!!!!! This book is so wrong and so hilarious. Seriously, I was having a hard time not laughing out loud in the middle of class today. I highly recommend this, ESPECIALLY to :

Tiger
Firebabe
Simple Mind

And all my other faves, of course, but as I am reading it, I can’t help but think of those three, especially FB. She could’ve written it, it’s just that witty.

It’s also random. But I have a feeling that all of the randomness is going to come together soon and turn out to be unrandom. The best books do that. Plus, it’s a quick read. I started it…I think the day before yesterday? And I’m already 2/3 of the way done.

Here’s the author’s warning:

If you’re buying this book as a gift for your grandma or a kid, you should be aware that it contains cusswords as well as tasteful depictions of cannibalism and people in their forties having sex. Don’t blame me. I told you.

🙂

And my most recent favourite snippet:

No one knows why, but second only to eating the brains of the living, the dead love affordable prefab furniture.

Anyways. I’m off to rip the new cd that ericaaaaaa sent me!!!! (EVOLVE!!! Aniiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!!) And she sent me pictures! and a check??? Which I didn’t ask for, and wish I could send back without cashing cuz society has taught me that borrowing money is weird and awkward. But, I am out of food, and behind on rent. And cell. And most of my other bills again. So. It shall be deposited.

Now. Music. And then Sims. And then SLEEP….

Log in to write a note

I’m glad you liked The Amber Spyglass. That’s the one that seems to make or break the series for most readers. =o) I’ve read two Christopher Moore books, Practical Demonkeeping and The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove. I don’t know if you ever read him, but “Hoops” seems to mention CM in about every 3rd entry. Loves him.

omg. I must read that book. 🙂 (as well as the golden compass books too)

May 1, 2007

LOL…sounds like a good book!

May 1, 2007

I liked the books, but am not optimistic about the movie.